James Blake wins 2013 Mercury Prize

  • 31/10/2013

Singer/songwriter James Blake has won Britain's 2013 Mercury Prize for his album Overgrown.

The electronic music star was named as the recipient of the prestigious £20,000 award for the most groundbreaking record of the last year at a ceremony in London on.

Collecting the honour, Blake choked back tears as he thanked his parents for their support, adding, "Thank you so much everyone."

Blake beat out competition from other acts including David Bowie, Arctic Monkeys, and hot favourite Laura Mvula to win the award.

He was nominated for the prize in 2011 for his self-titled debut album, but lost out to PJ Harvey and her acclaimed Let England Shake.

Speaking after his big win, the humble star confessed he did not think he would be up onstage, joking, "Well, I lost a bet..."

The 2013 Mercury Prize nominees were:

  • Arctic Monkeys - AM
  • David Bowie - The Next Day
  • Disclosure - Settle
  • Foals - Holy Fire
  • Jake Bugg - Jake Bugg
  • James Blake - Overgrown
  • Jon Hopkins - Immunity
  • Laura Marling - Once I Was An Eagle
  • Laura Mvula - Sing to the Moon
  • Rudimental - Home
  • Savages - Silence Yourself
  • Villagers - Awayland


source: newshub archive