Vodafone New Zealand Music Award 2012 finalists announced

  • 03/10/2012

By Jenny Suo and 3 News online staff

It's been more than 30 years since Toy Love broke up, but the group - led by singer Chris Knox will be inducted into New Zealand's music hall of fame later this year.

The announcement was made in Auckland this evening, where the hot favourites for the New Zealand music awards were also named.

While Toy Love was only together for two years from the late 70's, they certainly left an impression and former member Paul Keen says the band is honoured by the award.

Kimbra lead the charge with 6 nominations for this year's awards, including album of the year and best female solo artist.

Home Brew and Six60 both have five nods, contending with each other for 3 of them.

Gin Wigmore has been nominated for four awards, and Opossom have three.

Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards finalists for 2012

Best Male Solo Artist

Bulletproof – Dub Me Crazy

Seth Haapu – Seth Haapu

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Best Female Solo Artist

Gin Wigmore – Gravel & Wine

Kimbra – Vows

Ladyhawke – Anxiety

FOUR Best Group 

Home Brew – Home Brew

Opossom – Electric Hawaii

Six60 – Six60

Breakthrough Artist of The Year

Annah Mac – Little Stranger

Home Brew – Home Brew

Kimbra – Vows

Album of The Year

Home Brew – Home Brew

Kimbra – Vows

Opossom – Electric Hawaii

Six60 – Six60

The Adults – The Adults

Vodafone Single of The Year

Annah Mac – Girl in Stilettos

Gin Wigmore – Black Sheep

Kimbra – Warrior

Six60 – Don’t Forget Your Roots

The Adults – Nothing To Lose

Rockshop Best Rock Album

The Checks – Deadly Summer Sway

Clap Clap Riot – Counting Spins

Head Like a Hole – Blood Will Out

The Edge Best Pop Album

Bic Runga – Belle

Gin Wigmore – Gravel & Wine

Kimbra - Vows

Best Alternative Album

Ladyhawke – Anxiety

Opossom – Electric Hawaii

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Unkown Mortal Orchestra

Best Urban / Hip Hop Album

Adeaze – Rise & Shine

Home Brew – Home Brew

Savage – Mayhem & Miracles

Best Roots Album

Hollie Smith – Hollie Smith & Mara TK Band of Brothers Vol.1

The Black Seeds – Dust And Dirt

Tomorrow People – ONE

Best Electronica Album

Bulletproof – Dub Me Crazy

Concord Dawn – Air Chrysalis

Six60 – Six60

NZ On Air Best Music Video

Special Problems – Take a Picture (David Dallas)

Special Problems – The Sun (The Naked and Famous)

Special Problems – My Calculator (Zowie)

Best Maori Album

Ria Hall – Ria Hall

Upper Hutt Posse – Declaration of Resistance

Whirimako Black and Richard Nunns – Te More

Best Gospel / Christian Album

Parachute Band – Matins:Vespers

Rapture Ruckus – Open Your Eyes

The Ember Days – Emergency

KBB Music Best Classical Album

Anthony Ritchie and The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra – A Bugle Will Do

Christopher Blake – Angel at Ahipara

Eve de Castro-Robinson – Releasing the Angel

Vodafone People’s Choice Award

Gin Wigmore


Home Brew


Stan Walker

New Zealand Herald Legacy Award 

Toy Love

2012 Critics’ Choice

Beach Pigs

Loui the Zu


Technical Awards (winners)

Best Album Cover to Angela Keoghan for Dearly Departed (Bannerman)

MAINZ Best Engineer to Kody Nielson for Belle (Bic Runga)

MAINZ Best Producer to Neil Baldock for Me & Moon (Lydia Cole)

The VNZMAs hosted by Shannon Ryan and Ben Boyce will screen on FOUR, live from 8:30pm on Thursday November 1st and will be streamed at www.four.co.nz

source: newshub archive