New Zealand Facebook users warned about hack

New Zealand Facebook users are being warned about a hack which can lock people out of their accounts.

The hack sends a video link in a message to Facebook friends, implying the user appears in the video.

The message reads: "Is this yours?" or "It's you [user's name]!"

If clicked and logged in, the message is then forwarded to the user's friend list.

The scam first spread earlier in the year, but made the rounds again throughout New Zealand over the weekend.

Many users have been locked out of their accounts as a result of the hack, with some saying they were sent the link from up to 10 different people.

On Saturday, NZME radio presenter Chris Lynch posted on Facebook to say the link led the user to malware that enabled hackers to access Facebook accounts.

What to do in the case of a hack:

  • Firstly, try not to get hacked. Change your password regularly and message your friend back to ask for more information before clicking on video links sent via Facebook Messenger.
  • If you do click the link, do not log in - this is what gives hackers access to your account.
  • If you've already logged in, log out and change your password as soon as possible.
  • If you've been locked out of your account, you'll need to reset it. It's likely the hack has been forwarded to your Facebook friends, so it's a good idea to send a follow-up message to warn them not to click on the link themselves.

Newshub.