New Zealand and TPPA named in White House press regrets

The Obama administration are on their final days in office (Getty)
The Obama administration are on their final days in office (Getty)

White House press secretary Josh Earnest has revealed he wishes more work had been done with New Zealand and the 10 other countries who backed the Trans-Pacific Partnership agreement.

In a farewell Q&A on Twitter President Barack Obama's press officer revealed there was not one country he wished the administration had done more work with, but 11.

"The 11 countries who signed TPP with us. The Obama admin got a good deal for US workers but Congress never voted on it. #missed opportunity," he Tweeted on Friday.

New Zealand passed enabling legislation for the 12-nation agreement in November but in order to come into force the agreement needs ratification by the US.

In a video outlining his intentions for his first days in office President-elect Donald Trump revealed he would ditch the deal.

But US secretary of state nominee Rex Tillerson broke ranks with Mr Trump in a Senate confirmation hearing this week, saying he did not oppose the TPP.

As well as New Zealand and the US, the partner nations are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.