° °

Election results: Ikaroa-Rawhiti

Saturday 29 Jun 2013 6:40 p.m.

The country's newest MP will be decided tonight

The country's newest MP will be decided tonight

Share this story

The votes have been cast, the polls have closed, the counting has begun and the wait is now on in the Ikaroa-Rawhiti by-election.

Voting closed at 7pm and the Electoral Commission estimates a winner could be decided by 10:30pm tonight.

Final tally for Ikaroa-Rawhiti:

  • Meka Whaitiri – Labour Party 4368 votes
  • Te Hamua Nikora – Mana 2607 votes
  • Na Rongowhakaata Raihania – Maori Party 2104 votes
  • Marama Davidson – Green Party 1188 votes
  • Michael Appleby – Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party 161 votes
  • Maurice Wairau – Independent 27 votes
  • Adam Holland – Independent 13 votes

Leading candidate: Meka Whaitiri by 1761 votes

Percent of votes counted: 100 percent

Number of votes counted: 10,519

3 News

Share this story

Most popular