New NZ Super Rugby ref named

  • 19/12/2012

New Zealander Nick Briant is one of five new faces in the Sanzar refereeing team named for next year's Super Rugby competition.

Briant, from the Bay of Plenty, joins Argentina's Francisco Pastrana, Australian James Leckie, Jason Jaftha (South Africa) and Rohan Hoffman (Australia) as the new faces on an 18-man panel.

The team includes the southern hemisphere's top performers in Craig Joubert, Steve Walsh and Chris Pollock (returning from injury).

Sanzar game manager Lyndon Bray says the recent form of some referees in the Test arena had meant the establishment of a strong senior group.

"We have been able to include a healthy number of young referees," Bray said.

"They have been selected with an eye to the future, both for Super Rugby and Test rugby."

The full list is: Craig Joubert, Jaco Peyper, Jonathan Kaplan, Lourens van der Merwe, Stuart Berry, Jason Jaftha (South Africa); Chris Pollock, Glen Jackson, Garratt Williamson, Jonathon White, Mike Fraser, Nick Briant (New Zealand); Steve Walsh, Andrew Lees, Angus Gardner, James Leckie, Rohan Hoffman (Australia); Francisco Pastrana (Argentina).


source: newshub archive

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Viber Share to WhatsApp Share to Email