NZ track cycling squad named

  • 23/01/2014

An initial 12-strong New Zealand squad has been named for next month's track cycling world championships in Cali, Colombia.

The final team is due to be named next week once final quota places have been advised by the international cycling union (UCI), the sport's ruling body.

Omnium world champion Aaron Gate, and Olympic medallists Marc Ryan and Simon van Velthooven head the list, along with the bulk of the squad that has been involved in the World Cup programme and last year's development programme in Europe.

Southland 23-year-old Tom Scully is a newcomer, making a return to the top level after suffering serious injury when he crashed into a lamp-post in a sprint finish at the 2010 Tour of Ireland while riding for the New Zealand road team.

BikeNZ high performance director Mark Elliott is expecting to name a final team of around nine riders, comprising a men's endurance and men's sprint group.

"Some of these riders will not make it to Cali and there is plenty of competition for those places," Elliott said.

"However all of this squad, among others, will be in the reckoning for the Commonwealth Games if they can perform to world class at the national championships and in training."

Cyclists not selected for the world championships, including women's endurance and sprint riders, will be focusing on next month's elite national championships which will form the final trial for July's Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

New Zealand team:

Endurance: Aaron Gate, Dylan Kennett, Marc Ryan, Pieter Bulling, Shane Archbold, Tom Scully, Cameron Karwowski. Sprint: Ethan Mitchell, Eddie Dawkins, Sam Webster, Matt Archibald, Simon van Velthooven.


source: newshub archive