VIDEO: Goalkeeper blunder in penalty shootout

Saturday 11 Jun 2011 12:53 p.m.

An Italian goalkeeper cost his side promotion after an extraordinary penalty shoot out which saw his delight quickly turn into despair.
 
Loris Angeli, goalkeeper for seventh division side Dro, reeled away in celebration after seeing a Termeno player strike the crossbar with his spot kick.

But the ball then fell to earth, bounced, and trickled into the net.

With the scores locked at 4-4, Termeno's Michael Palma stepped up to face Dro 'keeper Loris Angeli.

Palma's penalty smashed back off the crossbar, the player instantly contorting in agony as Angeli danced away in delight.

But with the referee still watching attentively, the ball came down, and spun into the net.

The goal stood, and Dro's composure was irrevocably shattered, as they missed their next spot kick to seal promotion for their opponents.

Others Are Watching

comments powered by Disqus

Trending