2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games: Cycling

  • 29/03/2018
Anton Cooper
Anton Cooper wins a world U23 mountainbike title. Photo credit: Photosport

Over the history of the Commonwealth Games, cycling has been New Zealand’s second-most successful sport, capturing 97 medals - 22 of them have been gold - and ranking only behind athletics.

That haul also ranks New Zealand third, behind Australia and England, in Commonwealth Games cycling medals.

Our most successful individual performer was Gary Anderson, who won three gold, three silver and two bronze across the 1986 Edinburgh and 1990 Auckland Games.

Anderson also achieved New Zealand’s first Olympic medal on the bike, when he captured a bronze in the individual pursuit at Barcelona 1992, and 12 years later, Sarah Ulmer became our first gold medallist with victory in the women’s pursuit at Athens.

In recent years, our cyclists have headed into international competition with high expectations and they emerged from the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games as our most successful contingent, grabbing six gold medals, four silver and five bronze.

This time round, Tour de France veteran Jack Bauer, a time trial silver medallist four years ago, will lead New Zealand’s largest-ever Commonwealth Games cycling team.

Most of our champions will also return, although former trackster Shane Archbold will contest the road race this time round.

The sprint team of Eddie Dawkins, Ethan Mitchell and Sam Webster have since won three world titles and Olympic silver at Rio 2016, while Linda Villumsen has also snatched a world time trial crown on the road.

Mountain bike exponent Anton Cooper has taken out an U23 world cross country title.

But perhaps the most intriguing members of the cycling team are athletes who have excelled in other sports previously.

Two-time Olympic rowing gold medallist and eight-time world champion Hamish Bond will continue his transition to the bike, when he contests the road time trial.

Meanwhile, Kate McIlroy has won a 2005 world mountain running title (for which she was named NZ Sportswoman of the Year), finished fifth in the 2006 Commonwealth Games steeplechase on the track, and contested triathlon at the 2010 London Olympics and 2012 Glasgow Commonwealth Games,

She’s back in a black uniform to take on the cycling road race on the Gold Coast.

Shane Archbold - road
Jack Bauer - road
Hamish Bond - time trial
Jason Christie - road
Anton Cooper - mountainbike
Eddie Dawkins - sprint
Sam Gaze - mountainbike
Regan Gough - endurance
Jared Gray - endurance
Dylan Kennett - endurance
Nick Kergozou - endurance
Bradly Knipe - sprint
Hayden McCormick - road
Ethan Mitchell - sprint
Ben Oliver- mountainbike
James Oram - road
Tom Sexton - endurance
Campbell Stewart - endurance
Sam Webster - sprint
Zac Williams - sprint

Ellesse Andrews - endurance
Bryony Botha - endurance
Rushlee Buchanan - endurance
Emma Cumming - sprint
Michaela Drummond - endurance
Natasha Hansen - sprint
Kirstie James - endurance
Sharlotte Lucas - road
Kate McIlroy - road
Olivia Podmore - sprint
Racquel Sheath - endurance
Samara Sheppard mountainbike
Linda Villumsen - time trial
Georgia Williams - road