2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games: Hockey

  • 20/03/2018
Nic Woods
Nic Woods in action for the Black Sticks men. Photo credit: Photosport

Field hockey has been a part of the Commonwealth Games since 1998 and one country has dominated since its inclusion. The Australian men have won every gold medal, while the women have won gold every year, except for 2002, when India was victorious.

The New Zealand women have won three medals at past Commonwealth Games - bronze at Kuala Lumpur 1998, silver at Delhi 2010 and bronze at Glasgow 2014 - while the men have won two - silver at Manchester 2002 and bronze at Delhi.

For the women's team, Stacey Michelson and Anita McLaren are both competing at their third Games, while for the men, Shea McAleese will contest his fourth games.

Ten teams will make up both the men's and women's competitions, which run from April 5-14. Our Black Sticks women, currently ranked fourth in the world and second in the Commonwealth, face Scotland, Ghana, Canada and Australia in their pool.  

Our men, ranked ninth and fourth respectively, must overcome Canada, South Africa, Scotland, Australia.

Stacey Michelsen (captain)
Sam Charlton
Tarryn Davey
Frances Davies
Madison Doar
Shiloh Gloyn
Ella Gunson
Sam Harrison
Pippa Hayward
Rose Keddell
Anita McLaren
Olivia Merry
Brooke Neal
Grace O'Hanlon
Amy Robinson
Sally Rutherford
Kelsey Smith
Liz Thompson

Arun Panchia (captain) 
Cory Bennett
Marcus Child
Hugo Inglis
Stephen Jenness
Richard Joyce
Dane Lett
Devon Manchester
Shea McAleese
Harry Miskimmin
George Muir
Dominic Newman
Jared Panchia
Hayden Phillips
Nick Ross
Kane Russell
Aidan Sarikaya
Nic Woods