2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games: Netball

  • 20/03/2018
Katrina Gran
Silver Ferns captain Katrina Grant. Photo credit: Photosport

Netball has been a regular fixture at the Commonwealth Games since Kuala Lumpur 1998.

Australia and New Zealand have contested every final, with the Diamonds winning three times and the Silver Ferns twice. England and Jamaica are the only bronze medal winners.

Only three Ferns that won silver four years ago in Glasgow are included in this year’s squad - captain Katrina Grant, Shannon Francois and Maria Folau (née Tutiaia). For Folau, this will be her fourth Games appearance.

Netball will be played every day, except one, during the Games, with two pools of six battling it out for semi-final spots on the Gold Coast.

Australia are currently ranked first in the world, with New Zealand in second, but in recent months, the Silver Ferns have slumped to rare test defeats against England and Jamaica. Under coach Janine Southby, they must up their game to maintain their spot on the podium this time round.

Katrina Grant (captain)
Maria Folau (vice-captain)
Kayla Cullen
Ameliaranne Ekenasio
Temalisi Fakahokotau
Shannon Francois
Kelly Jury
Grace Kara
Bailey Mes
Te Paea Selby-Rickit
Michaela Sokolich-Beatson
Samantha Sinclair