2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games: Rugby Sevens

  • 20/03/2018
Tim Mikkelson
All Blacks Sevens veteran Tim Mikkelson. Photo credit: Getty

With a pedigree that reads four golds and one silver, the New Zealand men’s sevens side head to the Gold Coast under immense pressure to bring back a similar colour in 2018.

It might not be so easy this time, with South Africa, Fiji, Australia and England all showing great form in the World Series, while New Zealand have faded in recent tournaments after claiming the Durban title in December.

For the first time, Gordon Tietjens won’t be associated with the black jersey at the Commonwealth Games, with Scotland native Clarke Laidlaw in charge for the 2018 tilt.

The All Blacks sevens won the first four gold medal games, highlighted being Kuala Lumpur 1998, where the likes of Jonah Lomu, Eric Rish, Christian Cullen and Dallas Seymour combined to pinch gold from Fiji in one of the greatest games in sevens rugby history.

South Africa will arrive on the GC as defending champions, after denying New Zealand of their fifth straight gold medal at Glasgow. The All Blacks will be spearheaded by the experienced duo of Tim Wilkinson and Scott Curry, with Vilimoni Koroi, Joe Webber and Regan Ware supplying pace and flair.

Our women face a much different kind of pressure. The Olympic silver medallists are developing quite the rivalry with Rio champions Australia.

Our friendly foes from across the Tasman have the form to repeat the Rio result, having dismantled our Black Ferns in Sydney earlier this year.

But with women’s rugby’s most famous face - Portia Woodman - backed up by fellow Rugby World Cup winners Sarah Goss, Kelly Brazier, Stacey Waaka and Michaela Blyde, Australia may have their work cut out to claim gold at home.

Gold Coast will mark the first Commonwealth Games appearance for women’s rugby sevens.

Shakira Baker
Michaela Blyde
Kelly Brazier
Gayle Broughton
Theresa Fitzpatrick
Sarah Goss
Tyla Nathan-Wong
Ruby Tui
Stacey Waaka
Kat Whata-Simpkins
Niall Williams
Portia Woodman
Travelling reserve: Tenika Willison

Kurt Baker
Dylan Collier
Scott Curry
Sam Dickson
Trael Joass
Andrew Knewstubb
Vilimoni Koroi
Ngarohi McGarvey-Black
Tim Mikkelson
Sione Molia
Regan Ware
Joe Webber
Travelling reserve: Caleb Clarke