Birmingham Commonwealth Games: Hockey

  • 01/01/2022

Hockey is a relatively new addition to the Commonwealth Games, debuting at Kuala Lumpur 1998, but is now a core sport that must be contest at every edition.

Australia have traditionally dominated medals, winning every men's gold and all but two women's gold over hockey's history at the Games.

New Zealand helped break that domination at Gold Coast 2018, when the Black Sticks women defeated their trans-Tasman rivals 4-1 in the final, after needing a penalty shootout to overcome England in the semis. 

The NZ men have never broken the Aussie stranglehold, but have lost twice in the final, includng four years ago at Gold Coast. Both teams are currently rebuilding, after disappointing Tokyo Olympic campaigns last year.

Blair Tarrant in action at Tokyo Olympics
Blair Tarrant in action at Tokyo Olympics.

NZ Team

Women: Olivia Merry & Megan Hull (cc), Kaitlin Cotter, Anna Crowley, Tarryn Davey, Frances Davies, Stephanie Dickins, Katie Doar, Ani Haumaha, Alia Jaques, Tessa Jopp, Tyler Lench, Alex Lukin, Grace O'Hanlon, Hope Ralph, Brooke Roberts, Olivia Shannon, Rose Tynan

Men: Blair Tarrant (c), David Brydon, Jordan Cohen, George Enersen, Sean Findlay, Leon Hayward, Sam Hiha, Hugo Inglis, Sam Lane, Dane Lett, Harry Miskimmin, Hayden Phillips, Brad Read, Kane Russell, Aidan Sarikaya, Jake Smith, Dylan Thomas, Nick Woods

NZ Medals

Gold (1) - Women (2018)

Silver (3) - Men (2002), Women (2010), Men (2018)

Bronze (3) - Women (1998), Men (2010), Women (2014)