Birmingham Commonwealth Games: Sevens

  • 01/01/2022

Rugby sevens made its Commonwealth Games debut at Kuala Lumpur 1998 and has appeared at every edition since, becoming a core sport in 2010.

Women's sevens was added to the programme at Gold Coast 2018.

New Zealand has dominated the sevens, winning every gold medal, except Glasgow 2014, when the men were defeated by South Africa in the final.

Four years ago, Kelly Brazier went the length of the field in extra time to snatch victory for the Black Ferns Sevens over Australia, while the NZ men upset archrivals Fiji in their final.

Eleven of the Black Ferns squad are back from Gold Coast, while captain Sam Dickson, Dylan Collier and Joe Webber return for their third Commonwealth Games campaign.

All Blacks Sevens celebrate their Gold Coast gold medal
All Blacks Sevens celebrate their Gold Coast gold medal. Photo credit: Photosport

After their success at the Tokyo Olympics, where the women took gold and the men silver, they are among the medal favourites again, with the Aussies, Fijians and South Africans still their toughest opponents. 

NZ Team

Michaela Blyde, Kelly Brazier, Theresa Fitzpatrick, Sarah Hirini (c), Stacey Fluhler, Jazmin Hotham, Shiray Kaka, Tyla Nathan-Wong, Risaleaana Pouri-Lane, Alena Saili, Niall Williams, Tenika Willison, Portia Woodman

Leroy Carter, Che Clark, Dylan Collier, Scott Curry, Sam Dickson(c), Moses Leo, Ngarohi McGarvey-Black, Sione Molia, Tone Ng Shiu, Akuila Rokolisoa, Caleb Tangitau, Regan Ware, Joe Webber

NZ Medals

Gold (6) - All Blacks Sevens 1998, 2002, 2006, 2010, 2018, Black Ferns Sevens 2018

Silver (1) - All Blacks Sevens 2014