Birmingham Commonwealth Games: Cricket

  • 01/01/2022

Cricket has only featured at one previous Commonwealth Games, when the men contested a 50-over format at Kuala Lumpur 1998.

South Africa beat Australia in the final, with New Zealand, led by Stephen Fleming, beating Sri Lanka for bronze.

This will be the women's first chance to enjoy the spotlight in an eight-team T20 tournament.

The White Ferns qualified as one of the top six teams in the world, with hosts England, Australia, India, South Africa, Pakistan, Barbados and Sri Lanka filling the field.

The NZ women will be led by all-rounders Sophie Devine and Melie Kerr, and veteran batter Suzie Bates, and will be the first challenge facing new Aussie coach Ben Sawyer, who took over, after their disappointing performance at the World Cup on home soil. 

NZ Team

Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Sophie Devine, Lauren Down, Izzy Gaze, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Jess Kerr, Melie Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Jess McFadyen, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe

NZ Medals

Bronze (1) - NZ men: Geoff Allott, Nathan Astle, Mark Bailey, Matthew Bell, Chris Drum, Stephen Fleming, Chris Harris, Matt Horne, Dion Nash, Shayne O'Connor, Adam Parore, Craig McMillan, Alex Tait, Daniel Vettori and Paul Wiseman (1998)