Birmingham Commonwealth Games: Diving

  • 01/01/2022

Diving has been part of the Commonwealth Games programme since the 1930 Empire Games at Hamilton, Canada, but has featured at every event since, despite being an optional sport.

Historically, Canada and Australia have dominated the medal table, although England emerged from Glasgow 2014 and Gold Coast 2018 as the most successful diving team.

New Zealand has never won diving gold, but has gathered four bronze medals, the most recently to Nicky Cooney at Auckland 1990, while Jack Stewart medalled consecutively at Auckland 1950 and Vancouver 1954.

Anton Down-Jenkin in action at Tokyo Olympics
Anton Down-Jenkin in action at Tokyo Olympics. Photo credit: Photosport

Our eight-strong contingent at Birmingham represents New Zealand's biggest-ever diving team, with Liam Stone returning for his third straight Games.

NZ Team

Nathan Brown - 10m platform

Arno Lee - 10m springboard

Luke Spikes - 10m springboard & platform

Liam Stone - 3m & 1m springboard

Frazer Tavener - mixed 3m synchronised springboard

Mikali Dawson - 10m platform

Maggie Squire - 1m springboard, mixed 3m synchronised springboard

NZ Medals

Bronze (4) - Jack Stewart (3m springboard 1950), Jack Stewart (3m springboard 1954), Mark Graham (3m springboard 1982), Nicky Cooney (3m springboard 1990)