Birmingham Commonwealth Games: Netball

  • 01/01/2022

Netball made its first Commonwealth Games appearance at Auckland 1990, when New Zealand and Australia played a non-medal demonstration game, won by the Aussies.

Eight years later, at Kuala Lumpur, the sport became a fulltime fixture on the Games programme, with the Silver Ferns and Australians contesting five straight finals.

That run ended at Gold Coast 2018, when New Zealand fell out of the medals for the first time and England upset Australia for gold.

Since then, Dame Noeline Taurua has taken the Ferns to a world title, but will again face tough opposition from the English, Aussies and Jamaica.

Gina Crampton in action against Australia
Gina Crampton in action against Australia. Photo credit: Getty

NZ Team

Gina Crampton (c), Sulu Fitzpatrick, Kate Heffernan, Kayla Johnson, Kelly Jury, Phoenix Karaka, Bailey Mes, Grace Nweke, Shannon Saunders, Te Paea Selby-Rickit, Whitney Souness, Maia Wilson

NZ Medals

Gold (2) - 2006, 2010

Silver (3) - 1998, 2002, 2014