Birmingham Commonwealth Games: Squash

  • 01/01/2022

Squash was introduced to the Commonwealth Games programme at Kuala Lumpur 1998 and has featured at every event since.

While Australia and England have dominated medal standings, New Zealand has enjoyed its share of success, with five golds and 13 medals in total.

Joelle King accounts for six of those medals, including doubles gold at Delhi 2010 and Gold Coast 2018, and singles gold at Gold Coast. The world No.5 faces none of the rivals ranked above her, with her nearest Commonwealth opposition coming from sixth-ranked Englishwoman Sarah-Jane Perry.

Paul Coll in action at the world squash championships
Paul Coll in action at the world squash championships. Photo credit: Supplied

New Zealand's other obvious medal hope is men's world No.1 Paul Coll, who has won the last two British Open titles. He has yet to win Commonwealth gold, after taking singles silver and mixed doubles bronze with King at Gold Coast.

Amanda Landers-Murphy also returns to defend her women's doubles crown with King.

NZ Team

Lwamba Chilese - doubles, singles

Temwa Chilese - doubles, singles

Paul Coll - singles, mixed doubles


Joelle King - singles, mixed doubles and doubles

Amanda Landers-Murphy - doubles

Abbie Palmer - doubles

Kaitlyn Watts - doubles, singles

NZ Medals

Gold (5) - Carol Owens & Leilani Joyce (doubles 2002), Glen Wilson & Leilani Joyce (mixed doubles 2002), Joelle King & Jaclyn Hawkes (doubles 2010), Joelle King (singles 2018), Joelle King & Amanda Landers-Murphy (doubles 2018), 

Silver (4) - Carol Owens (singles 2002), Shelley Kitchen & Tamsyn Leevey (doubles 2006), Joelle King & Martin Knight (mixed doubles 2010), Paul Coll (singles 2018)

Bronze (4) - Sarah Cook & Glen Wilson (mixed doubles 1998), Shelley Kitchen (singles 2006), Joelle King (singles 2014), Paul Coll & Joelle King (mixed doubles 2018)