Birmingham Commonwealth Games: Swimming

  • 01/01/2022

Swimming has been part of the Commonwealth Games programme since the 1930 Empire Games at Hamilton, Canada, and has appeared at every edition of the Games since.

With 54 medal events, it second only to athletics (59) and has been historically dominated by Australia, which has won 305 of the 591 gold medals on offer.

New Zealand lies sixth on the alltime medal standings, equal with Scotland on 85 medals - the Scots have two more gold than the Kiwis - and just behind South Africa (91). 

Swimming is New Zealand's third most successful sport, behind athletics and cycling.

Among our most successful athletes, Anthony Mosse won successive 200m butterfly golds at Edinburgh 1986 and Auckland 1990.

Parastar Sophie Pascoe has won double gold at the last two Games - Glasgow 2014 and Gold Coast 2018 - and will return to contest 100m freestyle at Birmingham.

Lewis Clareburt at the Tokyo Olympics
Lewis Clareburt at the Tokyo Olympics. Photo credit: Photosport

New Zealand's other medal hopes revolve around Lewis Clareburt, who won 400m medley bronze at Gold Coast and made both medley finals at the Tokyo Olympics, and teeanger Erika Fairweather, who shattered the national record to reach the Tokyo 400m freestyle final.

Tokyo Paralympics 100m backstroke gold medallist Tupou Neiufi will also contest that event at Birmingham.

NZ Team

Lewis Clareburt - 400m individual medley, 200m individual medley, 200m freestyle

Cameron Gray - 50m butterfly, 200m freestyle, 100m freestyle, 50m freestyle, 50m backstroke

Andrew Jeffcoat - 100m backstroke, 50m backstroke, 200m backstroke

Jesse Reynolds - 100m backstroke S9, 100m butterfly S10, 100m breaststroke SB8

Joshua Willmer - 100m breaststroke SB8, 100m backstroke S9, 100m butterfly S9


Erika Fairweather - 400m freestyle, 200m freestyle, 100m freestyle

Helena Gasson - 200m individual medley, 200m butterfly, 100m butterfly, 50m butterfly, 50m backstroke

Tupou Neiufi - 100m backstroke S9, 100m freestyle S9

Hazel Ouwehand - 50m butterfly, 100m backstroke, 50m backstroke, 100m butterfly

Dame Sophie Pascoe - 100m freestyle S9

Mya Rasmussen - 400m individual medley, 200m individual medley, 200m breaststroke           

Eve Thomas - 800m freestyle, 400m freestyle, 200m Freestyle

Anthony Mosse wins gold at Auckland 1990
Anthony Mosse wins gold at Auckland 1990. Photo credit: Photosport

NZ Medals

Gold (18) - Men's 880 yards freestyle relay (1950), Jack Doms (220 yards breaststroke 1954), Dave Gerrard (220 yards butterfly 1966), Jayne Parkhouse (800m freestyle 1974), Mark Treffers (400m individual medley 1974), Gary Hurring (200m backstroke 1978), Sylvia Hume (100m backstroke 1986), Anthony Mosse (200m butterfly 1986), Anthony Mosse (200m butterfly 1990), Anna Simcic (200m backstroke 1990), Danyon Loader (200m butterfly 1994), Moss Burmester (200m butterfly 2006), Sophie Pascoe (100m breastroke SB9 & 200m individual medley SM10 2014), Lauren Boyle (400m freestyle 2014), Sophie Pascoe (200m individual medley SM10 & 100m breaststroke SB9 2018)

Silver (30) - Gordon Bridson (1500 yards & 440 yards freestyle 1930), Jean Stewart (110 yards backstroke 1950), Women's 440 yards freestyle relay (1950), Lincoln Hurring (110 yards backstroke 1954), Men's 3x110 yards medley relay (1954), Tessa Staveley (110 yards butterfly 1958), Vivien Haddon (100 yards breaststroke 1962), Tony Graham (110 yards & 220 yards breaststroke 1966), Mark Treffers (1500m freestyle 1974), Penny McCarthy (100m butterfly 1978), Rebecca Perrott (200m individual medley 1978), Paul Kingsman (100m & 200m backstroke 1986), Paul Kingsman (200m backstroke 1990), Anna Simcic (100m backstroke 1990), Trent Bray (200m freestyle 1994), Men's 4x100m freestyle relay (1994), Men's 4x200m freestyle relay (1994), Danyon Loader (400m freestyle 1994), Anna Simcic (200m backstroke 1994), Liz Van Welie (400m individual medley 2002), Dean Kent (200m individual medley 2006), Gareth Ken (200m backstroke 2010), Women's 4x200m freestyle relay (2010), Glenn Snyders (50m breaststroke 2010), Daniel Bell (100m backstroke 2010), Lauren Boyle (800m freestyle 2014)

Bronze (36) - Noel Crump (100 yards freestyle 1934), Mona Leydon (440 yards freestyle 1938), Buddy Lucas (440 yards & 1650 yards freestyle 1950), Men's 330 yard medley relay (1950), Jean Stewart (110 yards backstroke 1954), Philippa Gould (110 yards backstroke 1958), Vivien Haddon (220 yards breaststroke 1962), Alan Robertson (220 yards backstroke 1962), Vivien Haddon (220 yards breaststroke 1966), Margaret Macrae (220 yards backstroke 1966), Men's 4x110 yards medley relay (1966), Mark Treffers (1500m freestyle 1970), John Coutts (200m butterfly 1974), Susan Hunter (200m & 400m individual medley 1974), Jayne Parkhouse (400m freestyle 1974), Rebecca Perrott (400m & 800m freestyle 1978), Women's 4x100m freestyle relay (1982), Mike Davidson (400m freestyle 1986), Men's 4x200m freestyle relay (1990), Women's 4x200m freestyle relay (1990), Paul Kingsman (100m backstroke 1990), Danyon Loader (200m freestyle 1994), Sean Tretheway (100m frreestyle 1994), Toni Jeffs (50m freestyle 1998), Men's 4x200m freestyle relay (1998), Toni Jeffs (50m freestyle 2002), Moss Burmester (100m butterfly 2006), Cameron Gibson (200m backstroke 2006), Hannah McLean (200m backstroke 2006), Women's 4x200m freestyle relay (2006), Hayley Palmer (50m freestyle 2010), Women's 4x100m freestyle relay (2010), Lewis Clareburt (400m individual medley 2018)