2016 Silver Scroll nominees announced


It's a mix of fresh and established faces nominated for this year's APRA Silver Scroll Award, one of the most prestigious music awards in New Zealand.

Newcomers Leisure sit comfortably alongside national icon Dave Dobbyn on the nominee list for the 51st awards.

Electronic artist and former Shapeshifter member Pacific Heights was nominated for his tune 'Buried By The Burden' with Louis Baker, while on the other end of the beat Thomas Oliver's cruisy song 'If I Move To Mars' received a nod.

The Silver Scroll is one of New Zealand's most coveted music prizes, recognising a songwriter's outstanding achievement.

More than 10,000 Kiwi songwriters and composers make up the voting panel.

APRA AMCOS's Anthony Healey says every song nominated is unique and their only link is that they're all written in New Zealand.

"A song can take an age or a moment to write, but the pleasure the great songs give us are rewards to treasure," he says.

The winner will be announced at the Silver Scroll Awards held in Auckland's Vector Arena on Thursday 29 September.

Previous winners include Lorde, Dave Dobbyn and Bic Runga.

Full list of nominees: