Beloved sitcom Roseanne getting a reboot

  • 17/05/2017
The original cast of Roseanne
The cast will be reuniting for a new 2018 season (ABC)

Revivals are big at the moment, with Full House, Gilmore girls and X Files all being brought back to life in the past year. 

Now US network ABC has announced Roseanne is getting a reboot with the original cast including both Beckys. 

The show originally ran for nine seasons from 1988 to 1997, focused around Connor family matriarch Roseanne and her Illinois based brood. 

Roseanne Barr (Roseanne), John Goodman (Dan), Sara Gilbert (Darlene), Laurie Metcalf (Jackie), Michael Fishman (D.J.) and Lecy Goranson (Becky) are all signed on to film eight episodes, set to air in 2018, according to the LA Times.  

Scrubs actress Sarah Chalke, who replaced Lecy Goranson as Becky in later seasons, will also appear  but as another character. 

"The Conners' joys and struggles are as relevant and hilarious today as they were then, and there's really no one better to comment on our modern America than Roseanne," ABC Entertainment president Channing Dungey said in a press release announcing "Roseanne's" return.

Roseanne also won a Golden Globe Award for Best Television Series (comedy or musical) during its original stint, Best Performance Globe Awards for Barr and Goodman, a Lead Actress Emmy for Barr, and two Supporting Actress Emmy Awards for Metcalf.