Mike McRoberts, Jono & Ben win at 2018 New Zealand Television Awards

Mike McRoberts has been awarded best news presenter and Jono & Ben named best comedy show at the 2018 Huawei Mate20 New Zealand Television Awards.

Westside was also given the honour of best drama series and its star Antonia Prebble named best actress.

McRoberts says being named the best news presenter in Aotearoa is a "very big thrill".

"I guess I'm lucky on two counts in that we've had such a massive news year over the past 12 months, and that I'm blessed to work with an incredible team whose passion is to bring that news to New Zealanders every day," he says.

"Next year will be my 15th year presenting Newshub Live at 6PM, and the longer I do this job the more privileged I feel to have this opportunity.

"At a time when the world is so volatile it's an absolute honour to be considered a trusted source for our viewers and a front person for such a passionate news organisation."

TVNZ is also celebrating success, after winning best news coverage, best reporter and best TV personality for Hayley Holt.

Jono & Ben recently aired its final ever episode and producer Bronwynn Bakker was very happy it's bowing out with a national honour.

"I'm so proud of the show and everyone involved," she says.

"We've developed some amazing talent both on and off screen. It's bittersweet to win an award in our final year. Big shout out to the cast - Jono, Ben, Guy and Laura for making me look good at my job."

The list of winners awarded at the 2018 Huawei Mate20 New Zealand Television Awards, handed out at Auckland's Civic Theatre on Thursday night, is as follows:

  • Woman's Day Television Personality of the Year: Hayley Holt
  • Best Presenter: News and Current Affairs: Mike McRoberts
  • Best News Coverage: 1 News
  • Reporter of the Year: Jehan Casinader
  • NZ On Air Best Drama Series: Westside S3
  • Huawei Mate20 Best Actress: Antonia Prebble (Westside S3)
  • Best Actor: Rick Donald (800 Words S3)
  • Best Comedy/Comedy Entertainment Programme: Jono & Ben
  • Best Original Reality Series: The Casketeers
  • Stage & Screen Best Format Reality Series: My Kitchen Rules NZ S3
  • NZ On Air Best Web Series: Baby Mama's Club
  • Best Children's Programme: Thunderbirds Are Go
  • Te Māngai Pāho Best Maori Programme: NZ Wars: The Stories of Ruapekapeka
  • Te Māngai Pāho Best Reo Programme: Waka Huia - Timoti Karetu
  • Best Live Event Coverage: ANZAC Dawn Service 2018 (Māori Television)
  • Monstavision Best Sports Programme: No Regrets
  • Best Director: Documentary/Factual: Felicity Morgan-Rhind (Topp Country S3)
  • Screen Auckland Best Director: Drama: Peter Salmon (Wanted S2)
  • NZ On Air Best Factual Series: Coast New Zealand
  • Best Current Affairs Programme: Stuff Circuit
  • Best Pasifika Programme: Tales Of Time - Coconet TV
  • Best Lifestyle Programme: Topp Country S3
  • Huawei Mate20 Best Presenter: Entertainment: Anika Moa
  • NZ On Air Best Documentary: NZ Wars: The Stories of Ruapekapeka
  • Images & Sound Best Feature Drama: The Dance Exponents - Why Does Love?
  • Legend Award: Tini Molyneux