Six60 dominates the 2018 VNZMAs, winning five Tuis

  • 15/11/2018

Dunedin rockers Six60 have had a stellar night at the 2018 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards (VNZMAs), bagging an impressive total of five Tuis.

The 'White Lines' rockers were awarded Best Group, Highest Selling Album, Vodafone Highest Selling Single and NZ On Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year Award.

Singer Marlon Williams won the night's biggest award, Album of the Year, for his acclaimed Make Way for Love.

The Project host Kanoa Lloyd and musician Stan Walker hosted the VNZMAs ceremony at Auckland's Spark Arena.

Other big winners were Drax Project, who claimed Single of the Year for 'Woke Up Late' along with Breakthrough Artist of the Year, and Upper Hutt Posse.

The hip-hop pioneers were inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame and received the 2018 Legacy Award, and their classic 'E Tu' was performed by Che Fu and the Kratez.

The full list of 2018 VNZMA winners announced at the Spark Arena ceremony are as follows:

Te Pukaemi o te Tau/Hallensteins Album of the Year

Alien Weaponry -
Julia Deans - We Light Fire
Winner: Marlon Williams - Make Way For Love
Six60 - Six60
Tami Neilson - Sassafrass!
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Sex & Food

Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau/Vodafone Single of the Year

Winner: Drax Project - 'Woke Up Late'
Mitch James - '21'
Robinson - 'Nothing To Regret'
Six60 - 'Don't Give It Up'
Sons Of Zion - 'Drift Away'
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - 'Hunnybee'

Te Roopu Toa/THREE Best Group

Alien Weaponry -
Drax Project - Noon
Winner: Six60 - Six60
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Sex & Food

Te Kaipuoro Takitahi Toa/Best Solo Artist

Julia Deans - We Light Fire
Winner: Marlon Williams - Make Way for Love
Kimbra - Primal Heart
Tami Neilson - Sassafrass!

Te Kaituhura Puoro Toa o te Tau/Jaguar Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Winner: Drax Project

Te Kaipuoro Māori Toa/Te Māngai Pāho Best Māori Artist

Alien Weaponry
Winner: Troy Kingi

Te Kaipuoro Arotini Toa/The Edge Best Pop Artist

Drax Project
Winner: Kimbra

Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa/Best Alternative Artist

Marlon Williams
Wax Chattels
Winner: Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Te Kaipuoro Awe Toa/Best Soul/RnB Artist

Israel Starr
Winner: Troy Kingi
Vince Harder

Te Kaipuoro Hipihope Toa/Best Hip Hop Artist

Winner: SWIDT

Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa/Best Roots Artist

Winner: Sons of Zion
Tomorrow People

Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa/Best Electronic Artist

Winner: Chores
Arma Del Amor

Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa/Best Rock Artist

Winner: Alien Weaponry
Cairo Knife Fight
Skinny Hobos

Te Kaipuoro Kairangi Toa/Best Worship Artist

Winner: Equippers Revolution
EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth
Kane Adams

Te Kaipuoro Inamata Toa/Best Classical Artist

Winner: Eve de Castro Robinson
Henry Wong Doe
Michael Houston

Te Kōwhiri o te Nuinga/Vodafone People's Choice Award: Six60

Tohu Whakareretanga/Legacy Award: Upper Hutt Posse

Te Tōtahi Hoko Teitei/Vodafone Highest Selling Single: Six60 - 'Don't Give It Up'

Te Pukaemi Hoko Teitei/Highest Selling Album: Six60 - Six60

Te Rikoata Marakerake o te Tau/NZ On Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year: Six60 - 'Don't Give It Up'

Tohu Tutuki o te Ao/International Achievement: Brooke Fraser