VNZMAs 2019: Th' Dudes to be inducted in NZ Music Hall of Fame

VNZMAs 2019: Th' Dudes to be inducted in NZ Music Hall of Fame
Photo credit: Supplied

Kiwi music legends Th' Dudes will be welcomed into the NZ Music Hall of Fame at this year's Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards (VNZMAs). 

As well as putting on a special performance at the event, the rockers will be honoured with the 2019 Legacy Award, which last year went to Upper Hut Posse. 

Th' Dudes were formed by Ian Morris, Peter Urlich, Dave Dobbyn and Peter Coleman at Auckland's Sacred Heart College in 1975. They were later joined by Bruce Hambling and Lez White, and went on to record iconic Kiwi anthems 'Bliss' and 'Be Mine Tonight'.  

The group last reformed in 2006 for a reunion tour and were the subject of a documentary: Th' Dudes - Right Second Time.

Recorded Music NZ CEO Damian Vaughan credits the band with changing the way young musicians approached the industry. 

"They demanded respect from venues who normally looked upon bands as little more than a necessary nuisance who just happened to sell thousands of dollars of beer each night," he said.  

"They changed this for all Kiwi musicians who came after them." 

The VNZMAs will be held at Spark Arena on November 14.