Aldous Harding takes out top prize at 2019 Silver Scroll Awards

Aldous Harding has won the top honour at the 2019 APRA Silver Scroll Awards for her song 'The Barrel'.

This year's event, which is a celebration of Kiwi songwriting, was held on Wednesday night at Spark Arena in Auckland. 

The track features on Harding's third album Designer and the coveted accolade will see her recognised alongside other local musical luminaries like Marlon Williams, Bic Runga, Chris Knox and Dave Dobbyn. 

"Thanks everybody, I think it's wonderful you believe in us so much," Harding, who's real name is Hannah Top, said in her acceptance speech. 

"Congratulations to the other nominees... I'll put the money towards making the same happy mistake again.

Rounding off the evening was the induction of Ruru Karaitiana, Pixie Williams and Jim Carter into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame. The trio created Aotearoa’s first-ever true pop song, 'Blue Smoke', in 1949. 

The 54th Silver Scrolls ceremony was hosted by comedian Madeline Sami and its music was directed by one of the country's most admired jazz musicians, Nathan Haines. 

The full list of 2019 Silver Scroll winners is as follows: 

  • APRA Silver Scroll: Hannah Topp aka Aldous Harding, 'The Barrel'
  • APRA Maioha Award: Tyna Keelan, Angelique Te Rauna and Matauranga Te Rauna, 'Ka Ao'
  • SOUNZ Contemporary Award: Michael Norris, 'Sama Violin Concerto'
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Series: Karl Steven, 'The Bad Seed'
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film: Mike Newport, 'Mega Time Squad'



Contact Newshub with your story tips: