Revealed: Amazon's Lord of the Rings TV show cast

Revealed: The first 15 cast members of Amazon's Lord of the Rings TV show.
The cast of the Lord of the Rings TV show. Photo credit: Amazon Prime Video

Amazon Studios has revealed 15 primary cast members for its upcoming Lord of the Rings series, which is set to be filmed in New Zealand.

No character details have been announced, but JRR Tolkien fans may be able to pick out a few elves, dwarves, hobbits, humans and orcs from the actors' looks alone.

Headshot photos of all of the cast members revealed so far are in the image above, with each of their names listed below:

  • First row (L-R): Ema Horvath, Tom Budge, Morfydd Clark, Owain Arthur, Ismael Cruz 
  • Second row (L-R): Daniel Weyman, Nazanin Boniadi, Tyroe Muhafidin, Sophia Nomvete, Charlie Vickers  
  • Third row (L-R): Dylan Smith, Markella Kavenagh, Megan Richards, Robert Aramayo, Joseph Mawle

The Lord of the Rings TV show will be set in Middle-earth and feature new storylines preceding The Fellowship of the Ring.

Showrunners and executive producers Patrick McKay and JD Payne released a statement to media about the cast members announced so far.

"After undertaking an extensive global search, we are delighted finally to reveal the first group of brilliant performers who will take part in Amazon's The Lord of the Rings series,” said McKay and Payne. 

"These exceptionally talented women and men are more than just our actors: they are the newest members of an ever-expanding creative family that is now working tirelessly to bring Middle-earth to life anew for fans and audiences worldwide."

Production on the show will start in Auckland next month.