Netflix users can now remove autoplay previews

Netflix users around the world have felt relief.
Netflix users around the world have felt relief. Photo credit: Getty.

Netflix users worldwide are rejoicing after the streaming service finally allowed users to remove their autoplay previews.

"Some people find this feature helpful. Others not so much. We've heard the feedback loud and clear - members can now control whether or not they see autoplay previews on Netflix," Netflix US posted on Friday.

Autoplay on Netflix means a preview video plays when a user hovers over a preview icon or scrolls down the page.

Users have had to navigate around the icons to find their favourite tv series or movie.

Netflix users around the world have posted their relief online.

"My entire kingdom for a way to turn off the autoplay while browsing Netflix," said one Twitter user. 

"Literally no one found this feature useful THANK GOD you have finally freed us from this horrific nightmare," wrote another one person. 

"About @#$%ing time. There is absolutely no reason, other than wormbrained morally gray marketing research, that a human being would *want* autoplay, anywhere *near* the extent you've implemented. Absolutely asinine. So thanks!"

Here's how to switch off your Netflix autoplay preview. 

 

  1. Sign in to Netflix from a web browser.
  2. Select 'Manage Profiles' from the menu.
  3. Select the profile you'd like to update.
  4. Go to the autoplay section and uncheck 'Autoplay previews while browsing on all devices'.
Contact Newshub with your story tips:
news@newshub.co.nz