AC/DC announce comeback with three former members returning

AC/DC have announced their long-awaited comeback, with three of the Australian rock band's former members rejoining after several years out of the limelight.

Singer Brian Johnson, drummer Phil Rudd and bassist Cliff Williams have reunited with current members Angus and Stevie Young, as evidenced by a new poster of the group shared on social media. 

The 'Thunderstruck' hitmakers appear under the words 'Pwr Up', which appears to be the title of a new album - however no release date or tour information has been provided yet.

The future of the band was left in limbo after their last 'Rock or Bust' world tour, which began in 2015. Rudd was replaced after he was found guilty of drug charges and making death threats in New Zealand, and Johnson left the band following hearing loss issues, at one stage being replaced by Guns N' Roses frontman Axl Rose.

Warning: The following video contains language that may offend.

Guitarist Malcom Young, brother of Angus and leader of the group, died in 2017, and was replaced by his nephew Stevie, who features on the current line-up. 

NME reports that AC/DC's forthcoming album was already recorded earlier this year, but the release was delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic.