Benee, Jawsh 685, Six60, more to perform at rebranded 2020 Aotearoa Music Awards in 'biggest line-up ever'

The newly rebranded 2020 Aotearoa Music Awards will feature a whopping 19 performances as the new-look ceremony boasts its "biggest performance line-up ever". 

Benee, The Beths, CHAII, Church & AP, City of Souls, Jawsh 685, LAB, Mohau, Paige, Six60, Stan Walker and Tami Neilson will all take to the stage throughout the evening, as well as all being nominated for Tui awards. 

Tiki Taane will also perform on the night, as well as six special tribute performances by The Levites - one for each of the 2020 New Zealand Music Hall of Fame inductees: Johnny Cooper, Max Merritt, Peter Posa, Dinah Lee, The Chicks and Larry's Rebels. 

Recorded Music New Zealand CEO Damian Vaughan said in a statement that this year's show will be a "truly unique and special one to witness". 

"In a year where we have been starved of live music, everything from hip hop and pop through to rock, roots and country are being represented at this year’s awards," Vaughan said. 

"For us, it's all about the music and our artists. This is the biggest performance line-up we've ever had at the awards and it's an exciting list of names on the bill." 

Vaughan added that 2020 had been an especially challenging year for the music industry thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic, insisting that now was the time to celebrate the achievements of our homegrown musical acts. 

The three-and-a-half-hour-long event, which has relaunched with a focus on New Zealand's tangata whenua and the importance of te ao Maori in the music scene, will be hosted by The Project NZ's Jesse Mulligan and The Edge Radio station's Sharyn Casey and Jayden King. 

The Aotearoa Music Awards (AMA) will take place at Auckland's Spark Arena on Sunday, November 15. The show will be broadcast live on The Edge TV from 7pm and continue on Three from 8.30pm, and will be available to stream on ThreeNow. Public tickets for music lovers who wish to attend the event in person are also now on sale.