'Too good to be true': Crowded House chats 'To the Island' tour, new music on The Project

Crowded House has spoken to The Project after announcing a nationwide tour and releasing its first new music in more than a decade.

The iconic rock band behind 'Don't Dream It's Over' released the debut of the single 'Whatever You Want' starring indie artist Mac DeMarco.

After several years of inactivity, the band on Thursday revealed a 10-date New Zealand tour in March 2021.

The new line-up features founding members Neil Finn and Nick Seymour along with producer and keyboardist Mitchell Froom, guitarist and singer Liam Finn and drummer Elroy Finn.

Neil Finn told The Project on Thursday being in a band with his two sons is "too good to be true".

"It's the most natural thing in the world really - it's in their DNA and we've played together so much in the recent years I would rather be playing with these guys anyway, anywhere."

"Do you pinch yourself? You look around playing with your own kids," host Jeremy Corbett asked.

"Nah, they pinch me," Neil said.

Crowded House 'To The Island' tour dates 2021:

  • March 4 - Hamilton
    Claudelands Arena
  • March 6 - Napier
    Church Road Winery
  • March 8 - Nelson
    Trafalgar Centre
  • March 10 - Christchurch
    Christchurch Arena
  • March 11 - Dunedin
    Town Hall
  • March 13 - Queenstown
    Gibbston Valley
  • March 15 - Wellington
    TSB Bank Arena
  • March 17 - Palmerston North
    Regent Theatre
  • March 19 - Auckland
    Spark Arena
  • March 20 - New Plymouth
    Bowl of Brooklands

Tickets go on sale to the general public on November 5.

Watch the full interview on The Project above.