L.A.B. wins big at 2021 Aotearoa Music Awards

Reggae rock band L.A.B. have dominated this year's Aotearoa Music Awards, picking up four Tūī including Album of the Year and Single of the Year.

The five-piece won with their album L.A.B. IV and song 'Why Oh Why', and also claimed Best Group and Best Roots Artist.

Singer-songwriter Teeks also had a great night with three wins, nabbing Best Solo Artist, Best Soul/RnB Artist and Best Māori Artist.

The awards were handed out during a ceremony at the Aotea Centre in Auckland on Friday evening.

Teeks was among a number of artists who performed live at the show, alongside Stan Walker, Harper Finn, Troy Kingi and Louie Baker.

Te Nūtube also gave a live performance and won both the People's Choice Award and Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo Award. The group, comprised of 11-year-old Atareta Milne and nine-year-old Te Haakura Ihimaera-Manley, are the youngest ever artists to claim an Aotearoa Music Award.

Troy Kingi went into the awards with the most nominations. But in the six major categories he was nominated, the 'Sleep (Slumber)' singer didn't walk away with a single win.

Lorde also came away empty-handed after missing out in the one category she was nominated in this year.

Winners and finalists in the major categories of the 2021 Aotearoa Music Awards:

Te Pukaemi o te Tau (Album of the Year)

  • BENEE - Hey u x
  • Crowded House - Dreamers are Waiting
  • WINNER: L.A.B. - L.A.B. IV
  • The Phoenix Foundation - Friend Ship
  • TEEKS - Something to Feel
  • Troy Kingi - The Ghost of Freddie Cesar

Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau (Single of the Year)

  • Harper Finn - 'Dance Away These Days'
  • WINNER: L.A.B. - 'Why Oh Why'
  • Lorde - 'Solar Power'
  • Six60 - 'All She Wrote'
  • TEEKS - 'Remember Me'
  • Troy Kingi - 'Sleep (Slumber)'

Te Roopu Toa (Best Group)

  • Crowded House 
  • WINNER: L.A.B.
  • The Phoenix Foundation
  • Shapeshifter

Te Kaipuoro Takitahi Toa (Best Solo Artist)

  • Anna Coddington
  • Troy Kingi

Te Kaituhura Puoro Toa o te Tau (Breakthrough Artist of the Year)

  • Foley
  • WINNER: Harper Finn
  • Muroki
  • Niko Walters

Te Māngai Pāho Te Kaipuoro Māori Toa (Best Māori Artist)

  • Mara TK
  • WINNER: Teeks
  • Troy Kingi

Te Kaipuoro Arotini Toa (Best Pop Artist)

  • Foley

Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa (Best Alternative Artist)

  • Anthonie Tonnon
  • WINNER: Na Noise
  • Wax Chattels

Te Kaipuoro Awe Toa (Best Soul/RnB Artist)

  • Mara TK
  • WINNER: Teeks
  • Troy Kingi

Te Kaipuoro Hipihope Toa (Best Hip Hop Artist)

  • Diggy Dupè
  • WINNER: Team Dynamite

Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa (Best Roots Artist)

  • Grove Roots
  • WINNER: L.A.B.
  • Tomorrow People

Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo Award

  • Rei
  • WINNER: Te Nūtube
  • The Nudge & Troy Kingi

Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa (Best Electronic Artist)

  • WINNER: Paige Julia
  • Shapeshifter
  • Sola Rosa

Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa (Best Rock Artist)

  • WINNER: Dead Favours
  • Ekko Park
  • Mako Road

Te Kaipuoro Inamata Toa (Best Classical Artist)

  • WINNER: Claire Cowan
  • Justin DeHart
  • Tony Yan Tong Chen

Te Kōwhiri o te Nuinga | People's Choice Award: L.A.B.

Te Toa Hoko Teitei | Highest Selling Artist: Six60

NZ On Air Te Rikoata Marakerake o te Tau | Radio Airplay Record of the Year: Six60 - 'Fade Away'

Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa | New Zealand Music Hall of Fame: Annie Crummer, Debbie Harwood, Dianne Swann, Margaret Urlich and Kim Willoughby.