Newshub's Tova O'Brien named NZ's best political journalist at Voyager Media Awards

  • 18/05/2019
Tova O'Brien.
Tova O'Brien. Photo credit: The AM Show

Newshub's Tova O'Brien took out the Political Journalist of the Year prize at Friday night's Voyager Media Awards.

Hundreds gathered at the Cordis hotel in Auckland to honour the best journalism of the past year.

Newshub partner The Spinoff was judged Website of the Year, while Newshub also picked up awards for Best Coverage of a Major News Event (the royal tour) and Best Team Video (road toll devastation through the eyes of first responders).

The Spinoff's Madeleine Chapman won Best (Single) News Story with NZME's Nicholas Jones, while Stuff won Best News Website or App.

A full list of winners is below.


Best Innovation in digital Storytelling: Caught, Stuff

Best News website or App: Stuff

Website of the Year: The Spinoff


General: Jehan Casinader, Sunday/TVNZ

Crime and/or social issues: Teuila Fuatai,

Best arts, entertainment and/or lifestyle portfolio: Kim Knight, Canvas, NZ Herald/NZME

Best first-person essay or feature: Michelle Langstone, North & South/Bauer Media Group

Feature writing - Best feature writer - junior: Ellen Rykers, New Zealand Geographic/Kōwhai Media

Feature Writer of the Year (short-form): James Borrowdale, VICE

Feature Writer of the Year (long-form): Charlie Mitchell, Stuff


Best Headline or hook: Michael Donaldson, NZ Herald/NZME

Best artwork/graphics (including interactive/motion graphics): Toby Morris, The Spinoff

Cartoonist of the Year: Rod Emmerson, NZ Herald/NZME

Reviewer of the Year (Joint): Charlotte Grimshaw, New Zealand Listener/Bauer Media Group; The Spinoff; Landfall Review Online and Diana Wichtel, New Zealand Listener/Bauer Media Group

Editorial Executive of the Year: Patrick Crewdson, editor in chief, Stuff

Wolfson Fellowship: Patrick Crewdson, editor in chief, Stuff


Best magazine cover: North & South, Bauer Media Group

Best magazine design: HOME New Zealand/Bauer Media Group

Best newspaper-inserted magazine: Viva, NZ Herald/NZME

Best trade/specialist publication and/or website: Farmers Weekly/ GlobalHQ

Magazine of the Year: New Zealand Geographic, Kowhai Media


Best newspaper front page: Sunday Star-Times/Stuff

Community Newspaper of the Year: The Beacon/Beacon Publishing Group

Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation): Waikato Times

Newspaper of the Year (more than 30,000 circulation): NZ Herald/NZME

Weekly Newspaper of the Year: Sunday Star-Times/Stuff

Voyager Newspaper of the Year: Sunday Star-Times/Stuff

Opinion writing

Opinion writing - general and/or sport: Max Christoffersen, Waikato Times/Stuff

Opinion writing - humour/satire: Madeleine Chapman, The Spinoff

Opinion Writer of the Year: Simon Wilson, NZ Herald


Best feature/photographic essay: David White, Stuff

Best photography - general: Stephen Jaquiery, Otago Daily Times/Allied Press

Best photography - portrait: Alden Williams, Stuff

Best photography - news and/ or sport: Braden Fastier, Nelson Mail/Stuff

Best photo - junior: George Heard, The Press/Stuff

Photographer of the Year (joint): Braden Fastier, Nelson Mail/Stuff and Chris Skelton, Stuff


Reporter - general: Melanie Reid,

Reporter - crime and/or social issues: Kirsty Johnston, NZ Herald/NZME

Best reporting - Māori affairs: Miriama Kamo, Sunday and Marae/TVNZ

nib Health Journalism Scholarship - junior: Hannah Martin, Stuff

nib Health Journalism Scholarship - senior: Catherine Hutton, RNZ

Environmental/Sustainability Award: Charlie Mitchell, Stuff

Science and Technology Award: Eloise Gibson,

Best individual investigation: Nicholas Jones, NZ Herald/NZME

Best team investigation: Stuff, Sex offender/motel investigations

Best (single) news story (joint): Madeleine Chapman, The Spinoff and Nicholas Jones, NZ Herald/NZME

Best coverage of a major news event: Newshub/MediaWorks, Royal tour

Best editorial campaign or project: Stuff, New Zealand Made/ Nā Niu Tireni

Best reporter - junior: Mackenzie Smith, RNZ

Student Journalist of the Year: Luke Kirkness, NZ Herald/NZME

Community Journalist of the Year: Torika Tokalau, Western Leader/Stuff

Regional Journalist of the Year: Hamish McNeilly, The Press/Stuff

Sports Journalist of the Year: Dana Johannsen, NZ Herald

Business Journalist of the Year: Calida Stuart-Menteath, The National Business Review

Political Journalist of the Year: Tova O'Brien, Newshub/MediaWorks

Broadcaster of the Year: Janet McIntyre, Sunday/TVNZ

Reporter of the Year: Phil Pennington, RNZ


Best news video(single videographer): Dan Cook, RNZ

Best feature video (single videographer): Anna Harcourt, Re:/TVNZ

Best team video - news: Newshub/MediaWorks, Road toll devastation through the eyes of first responders

Best team video - feature: Sunday/TVNZ, P Babies

Best videographer - junior: Rosa Woods, The Dominion Post/Stuff

Videographer of the Year: Tim Flower, VICE