Ten people added to New Zealander of the Year nomination list

Ten new nominees for New Zealander of the Year have been revealed, including Ihumātao protest leader Pania Newton and Silver Ferns Coach Noeline Taurua.

It's also been revealed The Rock FM host Bryce Casey received the most nominations overall.

The full list of new nominees:


  • Noeline Taurua – Silver Ferns coach
  • David White – family violence advocate
  • Pania Newton – Ihumātao campaigner
  • Patrick Lam – baker and 7x Supreme Pie Award winner
  • Sir Mark Todd – retired Olympic equestrian champion 
  • Rachel Hunter – model and wellbeing advocate
  • Robett Hollis – celebrity speaker and entrepreneur
  • Ollie Langridge – climate change advocate
  • Allan Halse - director of CultureSafe NZ
  • Sarah Numan – founder and manager of Babyloss NZ

Nominations close on September 15 and a shortlist will be announced in December. Mike King won the most recent New Zealander of the year, while equal pay advocate Kristine Bartlett won it in 2018.

Chief judge Cameron Bennett said the award was not reserved for the "great and the good".

"These are people just like us - people who are concerned about social issues affecting us all in some way. What sets these people apart, though, is that they are taking action. That deserves our respect and recognition."



Contact Newshub with your story tips: