Auckland Transport slaps more than 1600 roads with speed limit changes

More than 1600 roads in Auckland are having their speed limits changed.

Auckland Transport announced on Thursday that 19 percent of its roads' speed limits will be reduced in a bid to increase safety and lower harm.

The change in speed limits is the third phase of Auckland Transport's Safe Speeds Programme, which the public was consulted on between February and April 2022.

In a statement, Auckland Transport said the speed limit changes will mainly be around schools, with approximately 980 roads surrounding more than 70 schools affected.

Auckland Transport's executive general manager of safety Stacey van der Putten said speed is a factor in more than 70 percent of road-related crashes.

"Safe speeds are one of the most simple and effective things, as a community, that we can do to prevent serious injuries and save lives," Putten said.

"In Tāmaki Makaurau, we have a shocking number of deaths and serious injuries from road trauma. It's just unacceptably high."

The speed limit changes affect many areas across Auckland, including Takapuna, Devonport, Glen Innes and Waiheke Island.

Click here for a full list of the roads affected.

The National Party's transport spokesperson, Simeon Brown, said reducing speed limits on the road will only make things worse for the city, which is known for its traffic congestion.

"Congestion issues in Auckland have long hindered the ability of people to get around and get things done, costing the city's economy around $1.3 billion a year and having a major impact on our productivity," he said.

"Speed limit reductions should be focused on high-risk areas and roads, and there is little evidence to suggest that a one-size-fits-all approach like this will make any real difference."

The transport spokesperson said National supports temporarily reducing the speed limit during pick-up and drop-off times around schools but believes Auckland Transport's "blanket response" will just slow people down.

The speed limit changes will come into effect in stages between December 2022 and March 2023.