Climate scientist Dr Jim Salinger named Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year

Dr Jim Salinger.
Dr Jim Salinger. Photo credit: Supplied

Distinguished international climate scientist, Dr Jim Salinger, has been named Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year

The veteran scientist has been acknowledged for his almost 50 years of research dedicated to the climate. 

In giving the award - organisers said Dr Salinger was one of the first scientists to address global warming.

"His pioneering work in 1975 marked the inception of a remarkable career."

Born in 1947, Dr Salinger completed a Bachelor of Science from the University of Otago in 1971, a Doctor of Philosophy from Victoria University of Wellington in 1981 and a Master of Philosophy in Environmental Law from the University of Auckland in 1999. 

He was awarded the prestigious NZ Science and Technology Medal in 1994, and is a Companion of the Royal Society of New Zealand. 

Award organisers said they are "humbled" to be able to recognise Dr Salinger's "remarkable impact", past and present in Aotearoa. 

Other Winners

  • University of Canterbury Young New Zealander of the Year Te Mātātahi o te Tau Winner: Simran Kaur (Tāmaki Makaurau, Auckland)
  • Ryman Healthcare Senior New Zealander of the Year Te Mātāpuputu o te Tau Winner: Bob Francis (Te Whanganui a Tara, Wellington)
  • Spark New Zealand Innovator of the Year Te Pou Whakairo o te Tau Winner: Cecilia Robinson (Tāmaki Makaurau, Auckland)
  • MFE New Zealand Environmental Hero of the Year Te Toa Taiao o te Tau Winner: Nicola MacDonald (Tāmaki Makaurau, Auckland)
  • Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year Ngā Pou Whirinaki o te Tau Winner: Cyclone Gabrielle Volunteers (Across Aotearoa)
  • Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year Te Pou Toko o Te Tau Winner: Sally Walker (Tāmaki Makaurau, Auckland)
  • Te Pou Tūroa o Aotearoa, New Zealand Legacy Award: Sir Wayne Smith KNZM (Tauranga)