Tokyo Olympics: Australian sevens star Ella Green omitted from women's team to defend Games gold

Former Wallabies centre Samu Kerevi has been included in Australia's rugby sevens squad for the Tokyo Olympics, but Ellia Green missed out on selection for the women's team that will defend the title they won at Rio.

Fiji-born Kerevi moved to Japan after the last Rugby World Cup, but returned to Australia this year to join the sevens programme and is one of three uncapped players named in the 12-man party headed for Tokyo.

Flying winger Green, also born in Fiji, was one of Australia's standout players when they won the inaugural women's gold medal five years ago, but a succession of injuries has hampered her run-in to the tournament.

"The past few days have been pretty long and dark since being told I haven't been selected for the Tokyo Olympics," Green has posted on Instagram.

"This is the reality of sport, it can make you feel like you're on top of the world and it can also make you feel lower than the ground. I am not currently injured, I just didn't get selected and I accept that."

Another Rio gold medallist, Chloe Dalton, missed out with a fractured cheekbone, but Charlotte Caslick, and co-captains Sharni Williams and Shannon Parry are among those returning to defend the Olympic title.

"This has arguably been one of the most challenging team selection processes in my career as a coach," says women's coach John Manenti.

"As coaches, we have selected the best performing squad and while some decisions were tough, ultimately we have selected a team that will put us in the best position to perform."

Australia's women will play the United States, China and hosts Japan in the opening round pool phase, while the men will take on co-favourites New Zealand, Argentina and South Korea in the round robin.

The men's team features indigenous Australians Maurice Longbottom and Dylan Pietsch, who will both make their Olympic debuts in Japan.

Women's squad: Shannon Parry, Sharni Williams, Faith Nathan, Dominique Du Toit, Emma Tonegato, Evania Pelite, Charlotte Caslick, Madison Ashby, Tia Hinds, Sariah Paki, Demi Hayes, Maddison Levi

Men's squad: Lachlan Anderson, Joe Pincus, Dylan Pietsch, Nicholas Malouf, Henry Paterson, Maurice Longbottom, Joshua Coward, Joshua Turner, Lachlan Miller, Samu Kerevi, Dietrich Roache, Henry Hutchison