Parliament's rugby team competes in World Cup

  • 22/07/2015
Parliament's rugby team competes in World Cup

Parliament's rugby team will be off to Britain in September to defend its world title.

Parliamentary rugby teams from 10 countries compete against each other in a tournament that's been held before every Rugby World Cup since 1995.

Teams are made up from MPs and parliamentary staff.

At least nine MPs are in the current team, including Corrections Minister Sam Lotu-Iiga and Labour's Kelvin Davis who are involved in a stoush over violence at Mt Eden prison.

NZ First leader Winston Peters is the team's media manager.

He was once a Maori All Blacks trialist but he's 70 now and doesn't expect he'll get a game.

"I hope they're not going to be that desperate."

Their trip is being paid by sponsors and from their own pockets.

Speaker David Carter's office says there's no taxpayer funding involved.

Countries that field teams are Argentina, Australia, France, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa, the United Kingdom and Wales.

New Zealand has won the tournament four times and beat Argentina in the final of the last one.