Tuku Morgan new president of Maori Party

  • 16/07/2016

Tukoroirangi Morgan is the new president of the Māori Party.

Co-leader leader Te Ururoa Flavell tweeted the outcome from the party's annual hui in Auckland on Saturday.

Mr Morgan is from Waikato-Tainui and his hapu are Ngati Makirangi and Ngati Mahuta.

His professional career includes secondary school teaching, television journalism and adviser to the Māori King.

He's a former NZ First MP and in 2015 he became the Māori Party's co-chair of the Hauraki-Waikato electorate.

Current party president Naida Glavish withdrew from the race leaving the party to decide between Mr Morgan and George Ngatai, Te Kaea reported.

The Māori Party's representation has dwindled from five seats in 2008 to just two at present - Mr Flavell's Waiariki electorate seat and Marama Fox's list seat.

It's founding members Dame Tariana Turia and Sir Pita Sharples retired at the last election and Mr Flavell says the party is in a rebuilding phase.

"We've got to start thinking about the long-term plans for the Māori Party and ensuring that it stays a part of the political landscape for ever," he told RNZ ahead of the meeting.

"If we lose the Waiariki seat it's a long haul back."