Craig Foss joins list of National MPs not seeking re-election

National Minister Craig Foss has announced he won't stand for re-election next year - but that's in stark contrast to what he told Newshub on Monday.

The list of MP and ministers stepping away from politics is growing, with Associate Transport Minister Mr Foss the latest to make a move.

The Tukituki MP says the decision was one he'd been thinking about "for quite a while" and cites family reasons for the change.

But his announcement follows questions by Newshub about his future on Monday where he replied: "I've already been selected, so yeah".

In a statement, Mr Foss says "recent events" had led him to reflect on his 11 years in politics.

"I have thoroughly enjoyed the opportunities and challenges presented to me over 11 years in politics, however, I have come to the conclusion that now is the right time to stand down."

Mr Foss also holds the Small Business, Statistics and Veterans' Affairs portfolios, as well as Associate Immigration.

He follows Local Government Minister and Maungakiekie MP Sam Lotu-Iiga who said on Tuesday he won't contest his seat again.

Both Mr Foss and Mr Lotu-Iiga will remain as their local MPs until closer to next year's election to avoid unnecessary by-elections.

They will also stand down from their respective ministerial roles when new Prime Minister Bill English's new Cabinet is sworn in.

Former Prime Minister John Key has already stepped down from his role, but will remain Helensville's MP until nearer the election.

Mr English is set to reveal his reshuffled Cabinet before Christmas.