Labour, NZ First set to take the reins

  • 26/10/2017

Governor-General Dame Patsy Reddy is preparing to swear in the new Government.

In just a few hours Jacinda Ardern will be Prime Minister and MPs from Labour, NZ First and the Greens will be on their way to the Beehive Cabinet room clutching their ministerial warrants.

Of the 31 Cabinet ministers, ministers outside Cabinet and Under-Secretaries, only five have been in Government before - Winston Peters, David Parker, Nanaia Mahuta, Damien O'Connor and Shane Jones.

The Greens have three ministers outside Cabinet and one Under-Secretary.

They've been in Parliament since 1996 and this is the first time the party has been part of a Government.

NZ First, in full coalition with Labour, has four Cabinet ministers and one Under-Secretary.

The swearing in ceremony takes place at Government House at 11am and the Cabinet will hold its first meeting at 3pm.

Ms Ardern holds her first post-Cabinet press conference an hour later.