Advisory group set up for Public Media Funding Commission

  • 25/02/2018
Michael Stiassny.
Michael Stiassny. Photo credit: Getty / File

Auckland businessman Michael Stiassny is to chair a four-member ministerial advisory group to investigate setting up a Public Media Funding Commission.

The other members are Kapiti-based Sandi Beatie, a former Deputy State Services Commissioner, Josh Easby, a former deputy chair of Radio New Zealand and Irene Gardiner, an Auckland-based television producer, director and consultant.

The appointments were announced by Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media Minister Clare Curran on Sunday.

"A Public Media Funding Commission will be a non-political voice advising Parliament on the state of the media and the resourcing needs of public media agencies," Ms Curran said.

The members of the advisory group bring together vast governance, public sector and broadcasting experience, she added.

The group will advise on the commission's functions, role and scope, which Ms Curran said will be taken to Cabinet.

"The advisory group will hold its first meeting and meet with me this week," she said.

Members' appointments are until June 30, 2019.

Insolvency specialist Mr Stiassny resigned from KordaMentha late last year, having joined the firm, when it was known as Ferrier Hodgson, in 1990.

He has overseen a number of high-profile liquidations and receiverships, including the 2013 MediaWorks receivership. He is chairman of Vector.