Jacinda Ardern imposes NZ travel ban on some Russian diplomats

Russian President Vladimir Putin and Jacinda Ardern.
Russian President Vladimir Putin and Jacinda Ardern. Photo credit: Reuters

The Government has announced a decision to ban Russian diplomats expelled from other countries from entering New Zealand.

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Peters announced the ban on Thursday as retaliation for an attack on British soil.

Many countries have expelled Russian diplomats due to suspicion the Russian government used a nerve agent to poison double agent Sergei Skripal in Salisbury.

"We will be asking our security partners to provide those names to us," said Ms Ardern said.

"Those names will then be placed on a travel ban list to ensure that individuals who have been found to undertake activities incompatible with their diplomatic status in other countries do not enter New Zealand."

Mr Peters says the Government is concerned by the attack and Russia needs to provide answers about the attack.

"Like our partners, we are raising questions on legitimate matters of international concern," Mr Peters said.

"As we said soon after the Salisbury attack, there are serious questions here that Russia needs to answer."


Contact Newshub with your story tips: