As it happened: New Zealand local body election results 2019

Results are starting to come in for the 2019 local body elections around the country.

Among the major victories so far is Auckland Mayor Phil Goff's win against his former Labour Party colleague, John Tamihere.

Invercargill Mayor Tim Shadbolt has won the Invercargill mayoralty for the ninth time.

Meanwhile, Wellington's Mayor Justin Lester is waiting to see if he can hold off a challenge from Andy Foster, who is backed by Sir Peter Jackson.

Please refresh the page for the latest live updates.

5:38pm – Fresh faces on Wellington City Council

Tamatha Paul, 22, has been voted on to the Pukehinau/Lambton Ward and Teri O'Neill, 21, has been elected for the Motukairangi/Eastern Ward.

4.59pm - Southland votes are in

Southland will be led by incumbent Mayor Gary Tong.

Tong received 4400 votes – more than 2000 votes ahead of his nearest rival.

4:45pm - New Zealand's youngest Mayor 

At 28 years old, Campbell Barry has become New Zealand's youngest ever mayor, winning Hutt City's top job over incumbent of nine years, Ray Wallace. 

Former prime minister Norman Kirk was 30 when he became mayor of Kaiapoi in 1953, aged 30.

4:30pm - West Coast farmer wins Buller District 

Jaime Cleine has been elected mayor of Buller District, taking the leadership post from Garry Howard. 

In April, Howard told Stuff he wouldn't be seeking re-election, stating: "I didn't want to grow old or tired of the position."

4:15pm - Andy Foster in narrow lead over Justin Lester

Incumbent Wellington Mayor Justin Lester is currently behind in the race and facing a tough battle to win.

Councillor Andy Foster, backed by Sir Peter Jackson, has a narrow lead over Lester, according to the latest progress results.

3:50pm - Hauraki district has a new Mayor 

For the first time in 15 years, Hauraki District has a new mayor. Toby Adams has won the job in place of John Tregidga who announced his plans to step down earlier this year.  

3:45pm - Tenby Powell takes out Tauranga 

Tauranga has a new Mayor in Tenby Powell, taking out incumbent Greg Brownless with a 4000-vote lead. 

The win comes as an upset following a high profile campaign that garnered mixed views. 

3:40pm - New Mayor elected in Hamilton City Council  

Paula Southgate has taken out the mayoralty for Hamilton after emerging stronger than Andrew King. 

Southgate gained 11079 votes while King drew 8606. 

3:35pm - John Carter retains position in Far North

Far North Mayor John Carter has retained his position with a commanding lead towards the end of the ballot counting.

Carter currently has over 5000 votes, while current second-place contender Tania McInnes has over 3200 votes.

3:30pm -  Aaron Hawkins wins Dunedin

Green Party councillor Aaron Hawkins has taken out the Dunedin mayoralty.

"Humbling to be given the privilege of leading our next council. Thank you," he tweeted.

"It's an exciting and challenging time for the city. Can't wait to get stuck in."

3:20pm - Tamihere congratulates Goff on his win

John Tamihere has congratulated rival Phil Goff on his victory to remain Mayor of Auckland - and issued a warning.

In a statement released on his Facebook page, Tamihere thanked his supporters "from the bottom of my heart".

"I believe your vote has sent a message to the powers that be, that a growing number of ratepayers aren't happy with the many issues facing our great city and want new ideas from their councillors.

"I sincerely hope they listen."

3:15pm - Steve Chadwick claims third term in Rotorua

Rotorua Mayor Steve Chadwick has claimed another electoral win to hold her position, the third time in a row she's won this.

3:00pm - Meng Foon's replacement as Mayor of Gisborne announced

Meng Foon's replacement as the Mayor of Gisborne has been announced.

Foon left to take up a position as the new Race Relations Commissioner. He has been replaced by his former deputy mayor Rehette Stoltz.

2:40pm -  Kirsten Wise wins Napier race

Kirsten Wise has been elected as Mayor of Napier after beating former National MP Chris Tremain by around 8000 votes.

2:34pm - Timaru District welcomes new mayor

Timaru District has a new mayor - businessman Nigel Bowen.

Preliminary results show he received 8322 provisional votes, far ahead of top rival candidates Gordon Handy, who had 4771 and Janie Annear on 3887.

2:30pm - Mayor Jim Boult wins again in Queenstown District

Queenstown District Mayor Jim Boult has won another term. He received more than 5,535 votes, with a district voter return of around 43 percent.

2:25pm - Deon Swiggs loses seat

Deon Swiggs has lost his seat on the Christchurch City Council following allegations of inappropriate behaviour.

Swiggs was accused of sending inappropriate messages to young people but refused to call off his campaign.

2:20pm: Garry Webber re-elected in Westen Bay of Plenty

Garry Webber has been re-elected as Mayor of Western Bay of Plenty.

2:15pm - Taupō District Mayor returned

Taupō District Mayor David Trewavas will return for a third term with a count of around 95 percent of the votes showing him in the lead.

2:10pm - Dalziel on track to return as Christchurch Mayor

Lianne Dalziel is on track to win Christchurch's mayoralty race, according to the current vote count.

2:05pm - Victory for Goff

Phil Goff has defeated John Tamihere in the battle for Auckland Mayor.

The incumbent mayor won in a landslide, receiving 155,957 votes in comparison to Tamihere's 70,000.

Craig Lord was in third place, with 25,000 votes.

2pm - Central Otago District Mayor Tim Cadogan holds position

Incumbent Mayor Tim Cadogan has held his position in a vote with over 53 percent turnout.

1:50pm - Hurunui votes in first female mayor

Hurunui has voted in its first female mayor - Marie Black. Black says this is "very exciting".

"Of course I'm very excited and very proud to be the first woman mayor to lead the Hurunui District," she told Newshub.

1:45pm- Shadbolt wins again

Invercargill Mayor Tim Shadbolt has held his position as the country's longest-serving Mayor in a fight against insurgents from his own council ranks.