Local body elections: Meet the Mayors around New Zealand

Interim local body election results are in and the people have had their say.

Some incumbents have held on to their seats, while there've also been a few mayoral upsets.

Here's a round-up of the key results around the country.




The smile said it all. Phil Goff is back as Mayor of Auckland after winning a clear majority over his closest rival, John Tamihere.

After 35 years in politics, he said it was an honour to get a second term.

"I am so proud to be the Mayor of this city, one of our most multicultural," he said.

Despite a last-minute flurry, turnout was low. But he got almost half the votes - and more than twice that of Tamihere.

"He worked hard, he spent a lot of money, he campaigned hard," Goff said. "I disagreed with a lot of what he said."

For Goff it's straight back to work, already laying out his priorities.

"Climate change, infrastructure and the third area is actually the structure of council," he said.


In the capital it's still too close to call - but there could be a major upset.

Andy Foster, backed by Sir Peter Jackson, has taken the lead over sitting Mayor Justin Lester.

But it's a tight race and the final result won't be known until next week when the special votes have been counted.


In Tauranga, businessman Tenby Powell, husband of entrepreneur Sharon Hunter, caused a stir by beating incumbent Mayor Greg Brownless.


Hamilton gets a new Mayor after Paula Southgate took the crown from Andrew King.

Lower Hutt

And there's a fresh face in Lower Hutt as Campbell Barry becomes New Zealand's youngest-ever Mayor at 28.



In the deep south, Sir Tim Shadbolt continued his record-breaking streak. But there is also a host of new Mayors in other parts of the South Island.


There was a flurry of last-minute votes cast at the Christchurch City Council on Saturday morning.

And just after 2pm a winner emerged - Lianne Dalziel was re-elected for a third term as Mayor, beating nearest rival Darryll Park by over 16,000 votes.

"I'm grateful. I know its a big responsibility to take on a third term," she said.

Meanwhile, Deon Swiggs - who's under investigation for misconduct - lost his Central Ward seat to Jake McLellan.

"I think that was inevitable given a number of things that happened over the last few weeks," Dalziel said.


Further south, Dunedin has a new Mayor after Dave Cull retired. 35-year-old Green party candidate Aaron Hawkins beat 13 other candidates to the top job.


Ashburton too has a new Mayor with long-standing councillor Neil Brown beating current Mayor Donna Favel.


Hurunui voted in its first female Mayor, Marie Black.


In Invercargill, Sir Tim Shadbolt extended his place in the record books with another win.

"I'm clearly now the longest-serving Mayor in the history of this country," he said.

"I know some people will say 'he's over the hill, he should retire' but at the end of the day the people decide who will be their Mayor."