National's Shadow Cabinet: Paula Bennett pushed down ranks, no sign of Simon Bridges

Paula Bennett has been pushed down the ranks of the National Party's Shadow Cabinet list, while Simon Bridges is nowhere to be seen. 

Bennett, National's former deputy leader, has been dropped from second place on the party's list to number 13, but she has retained her drug reform and women portfolios. 

Bridges, who lost the leadership on Friday following a successful challenge from Todd Muller, does not appear on the list because he is taking time to reflect on his future. 

National leader Todd Muller said there would be a place for Bridges in his Cabinet should he decide to stay in politics.

Announcing his caucus reshuffle on Monday, Muller said he was pleased that Amy Adams has agreed to be the Minister for COVID-19 Recovery if National wins the election. 

Adams, MP for Selwyn, announced in June 2019 that she would retire from politics at the 2020 election, giving up her finance portfolio and role as Shadow Attorney-General. 

But Muller said she has agreed to stay on if National wins, describing her as "tough and tested". He said Adams will "play a key role in getting you, your family and your community through this". 

Adams retains her position as number three on the list. 

National MP Nicola Willis has been moved up significantly from number 45 on National's list to 14, and takes on housing, on top of the early childhood education portfolio she previously held. 

Housing was previously held by Judith Collins. She stays at number four on National's list, holding the portfolios of economic development, regional development, Pike River re-entry, and Shadow Attorney-General. 

Paul Goldsmith has dropped from number three to five on the list and will retain the finance portfolio. Following him at number six is Gerry Brownlee who holds foreign affairs, disarmament, the spy portfolios, and Shadow Leader of the House. 

Michael Woodhouse retains the health portfolio and sits at number seven; Louise Upston retains the social development portfolio and sits at number eight; and Mark Mitchell holds on to justice and sits at number nine. 

Muller, as leader, will hold the small business portfolio and will be in charge of national security, while deputy leader Nikki Kaye will hold onto education, as well as sport and recreation. 

Here's the full list:

  1. Todd Muller: Small Business, National Security
  2. Hon Nikki Kaye: Education, Sport and Recreation
  3. Hon Amy Adams: COVID-19 Recovery
  4. Hon Judith Collins: Economic Development, Regional Development, Shadow Attorney-General, Pike River Re-entry
  5. Hon Paul Goldsmith: Finance, Earthquake Commission
  6. Hon Gerry Brownlee: Foreign Affairs, Disarmament, GCSB, NZSIS, Shadow Leader of House
  7. Hon Michael Woodhouse: Health, Deputy Shadow Leader of the House, Associate Finance
  8. Hon Louise Upston: Social Development, Social Investment
  9. Hon Mark Mitchell: Justice, Defence
  10. Hon Scott Simpson: Environment, Climate Change, Planning (RMA reform)
  11. Hon Todd McClay: Trade, Tourism
  12. Chris Bishop: Infrastructure, Transport
  13. Hon Paula Bennett: Drug Reform, Women
  14. Nicola Willis: Housing and Urban Development, Early Childhood Education
  15. Hon Jacqui Dean: Conservation
  16. Hon David Bennett: Agriculture
  17. Shane Reti: Tertiary, Skills and Employment, Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations, Associate Health
  18. Melissa Lee: Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media, Data and Cybersecurity
  19. Andrew Bayly: Revenue, Commerce, State-Owned Enterprises, Associate Finance
  20. Hon Alfred Ngaro: Pacific Peoples, Community and Voluntary, Children and Disability Issues
  21. Barbara Kuriger: Senior Whip, Food Safety, Rural Communities
  22. Jonathan Young: Energy & Resources, Arts Culture and Heritage
  23. Hon Tim MacIndoe: ACC, Seniors, Civil Defence
  24. Hon Nick Smith: State Services, Electoral Law Reform, Associate COVID-19 Recovery
  25. Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi: Ethnic Communities
  26. Matt Doocey: Junior Whip, Mental Health
  27. Jian Yang: Statistics, Associate Education, Associate Ethnic Communities
  28. Stuart Smith: Immigration, Viticulture
  29. Simon O'Connor: Customs, Associate Social Development, Associate Housing and Urban Development (Social Housing)
  30. Lawrence Yule: Local Government
  31. Denise Lee: Local Government (Auckland)
  32. Hon Anne Tolley: Deputy Speaker
  33. Parmjeet Parmar: Research, Science and Innovation
  34. Brett Hudson: Police, Government Digital Services
  35. Simeon Brown: Corrections, Youth, Associate Education
  36. Ian McKelvie: Racing, Fisheries
  37. Jo Hayes: Whānau Ora, Māori Development
  38. Andrew Falloon: Biosecurity, Associate Agriculture, Associate Transport
  39. Harete Hipango: Crown Māori Relations, Māori Tourism
  40. Matt King: Regional Development (North Island), Associate Transport
  41. Chris Penk: Courts, Veterans
  42. Hamish Walker: Land Information, Forestry, Associate Tourism
  43. Erica Stanford: Internal Affairs, Associate Environment, Associate Conservation
  44. Tim van de Molen: Third Whip, Building and Construction
  45. Maureen Pugh: Consumer Affairs, Regional Development (South Island), West Coast Issues
  46. Dan Bidois: Workplace Relations and Safety
  47. Agnes Loheni: Associate Small Business, Associate Pacific Peoples
  48. Paulo Garcia Associate Justice

Retiring at 2020 election

  • Hon David Carter
  • Hon Nicky Wagner
  • Hon Nathan Guy
  • Hon Maggie Barry
  • Sarah Dowie
  • Alastair Scott