NZ Election 2020 - Halfway mark: With 50 percent of votes counted here's how Parliament's looking

The Electoral Commission has published 50 percent of the votes and Labour is way out in front while National is languishing behind and it looks like many of their seats will be flipped. 

Labour is on 49.8 percent at the halfway mark, while National is on 26.4 percent, ACT is on 7.8 percent, the Greens are on 7.9 percent and NZ First is on 2.4 percent - the latter being the only party currently in Parliament that won't make it back. 

While the final election result is yet to be called, it's looking highly likely Labour will form the next Government, and on 50 percent it would get 65 seats so, for the first time in MMP history, it could govern alone. 

National would get 35 seats and ACT would get 10 seats but that will not be enough for them to form a Government together. The Greens would get 10 seats - two more than they currently have - and it's looking like there's a chance they might win an electorate. 

Green MP Chloe Swarbrick is neck-and-neck with Labour's Helen White to win Auckland Central. The seat was held by National's Nikki Kaye, who is stepping away from politics after a short stint as deputy leader. 

Swarbrick is on 6940 votes while White is on 6547. National's candidate Emma Mellow is trailing behind them on 5336. The Greens have only ever held one seat before, Coromandel, when former co-leader Jeanette Fitzsimons won it in 1999. 

It's also looking like National's current deputy leader Gerry Brownlee could lose his Ilam seat - which he's held since 1996 - to Labour's Sarah Pallett. Brownlee told Newshub it was too soon to call it when asked if he thought he would lose. 

"No one has a right to a seat," he said, adding that he thinks leader Judith Collins has done an "exceptional" job going up against Jacinda Ardern. 

National MP Nick Smith's hold on Nelson is also on shaky ground. He's held the seat since 1996 but Labour's Rachel Boyack looks set to win with 15,908 votes compared to his 12,027. Boyack would be the electorate's first woman MP. 

National's Chris Bishop is another senior MP who could lose his Hutt South seat, which has traditionally leant towards Labour. He's currently on 5070 but Labour's Ginny Andersen is ahead on 5739. 

Labour also looks set to be victorious in Rangitata, the electorate which was held by National's Andrew Falloon who resigned effective immediately in July after sending inappropriate images to young women. 

Labour's Jo Luxton is ahead on 16,539 compared to National's candidate Megan Hands on 12,977. Hands recently liked a post on social media that was critical of the National Party

Despite outgoing National MP Hamish Walker's debacle of sharing sensitive COVID-19 patient data to the press, National's replacement candidate Joseph Mooney looks set to keep the seat blue. 

Labour could win Hamilton West, the electorate currently held by National MP Tim Macindoe. Labour's Gaurav Sharma is ahead on 10,881 compared to Macindoe on 7360. 

Labour could also win the East Coast with Labour's Kiri Allan out on top. The seat was held by outgoing National MP Anne Tolley, who is retiring from politics

Upper Harbour - the electorate held by former National deputy leader Paula Bennett who is stepping away from politics - looks like it could also flip to Labour with candidate Vanushi Walters on top. 

Even National's health spokesperson Dr Shane Reti could lose his Whangārei seat to Labour's Emily Henderson. Dr Reti is on 7457 compared to Henderson's 8219. 

There are some seats that National looks set to win, such as Botany where ex-Air New Zealand boss Chris Luxon is leading on 12,090. He'll replace former National MP Jami-Lee Ross, who now leads Advance NZ which is currently on 0.8 percent. Ross decided not to try and re-win his electorate. 

National is also holding on to seats such as Bay of Plenty currently held by Todd Muller, who had a brief stint as party leader. He's out in front on 9976 over Labour's Angie Warren-Clark on 8032. 

National looks like it'll keep Selwyn blue with candidate Nicola Grigg in the lead. The seat was held by National's Amy Adams, who quit as an MP but then came back to work under Muller. Then, she quit again. 

National leader Judith Collins looks set to keep her Papakura seat while former leader Simon Bridges also looks safe in his Tauranga electorate. 

Northland MP Matt King also looks to be holding on to it. He's on 8316 followed closely by Labour's Willow-Jean Prime on 8177, while NZ First's Shane Jones is trailing behind on 2338. 

Labour leader Jacinda Ardern looks safe in her Mt Albert seat with a huge 17,974 votes. 

Labour is set for an unprecedented majority in Parliament. Political parties need 61 seats to govern alone and it would be the first time since New Zealand introduced the Mixed Member Proportional (MMP) voting system. 

The reason you don't usually get a majority under MMP is because voters get two options - a party vote and an electorate vote - and voters often split it, for example you might give your candidate vote to National and party vote to ACT. 

The last election was a bit confusing because while National got the most votes - 46 percent - it didn't end up forming the Government. That's because National's 46 percent equated to 58 seats which wasn't enough for it to govern alone so it needed NZ First's nine seats. 

But NZ First leader Winston Peters decided to form a coalition with Labour which had 45 seats. That still wasn't enough, so Labour signed a confidence and supply agreement with the Greens - sort of like a less powerful coalition agreement. 

That's how we ended up with the Labour-NZ First-Greens Government we have today.