National's new shadow Cabinet: Andrew Bayly shoots up the ranks, Paul Goldsmith loses finance

Andrew Bayly has shot up the ranks of the National Party at third place in the new shadow Cabinet while Paul Goldsmith has lost the coveted finance portfolio to Michael Woodhouse.

National leader Judith Collins unveiled her new shadow Cabinet on Wednesday following the party's crushing election defeat which left them with just 33 MPs down from 56 in the last term of Parliament.

Shane Reti was already announced as the new deputy leader on Tuesday. He is ranked second, up from number five in the last reshuffle, and will continue on as health spokesperson while also picking up children to shadow Labour's Kelvin Davis.

Andrew Bayly has shot up from number 16 in Collins' last reshuffle to number three. He becomes shadow Treasurer with a focus on revenue, and also picks up the infrastructure and statistics portfolios.

Paul Goldsmith was previously ranked at number three but has been dropped to number 12 and stripped of the coveted finance role he held. It comes after several mistakes were discovered in National's economic plan during the election campaign.

The finance role shifts to Michael Woodhouse who also picks up transport and becomes Deputy Leader of the House. Woodhouse was stripped of the health portfolio in Collins' previous reshuffle after he failed to inform the Government of leaked COVID-19 data he'd been sent.

Louise Upston moves up the ranks from number nine to five. She holds onto social development and employment, and will also be the spokesperson for Whanau Ora and Land Information.

Todd McClay is ranked number six up from eight. He holds on to tourism and will be the spokesperson for small business, commerce and consumer affairs, and picks up the associate role for Pacific peoples.

Former National leader Simon Bridges has been demoted to number nine down from number four. He's also been stripped of the foreign affairs portfolio but holds onto justice. He will also be spokesperson for water, Pike River re-entry and Māori-Crown relations.

Former National leader Todd Muller has also dropped from number eight to 19. He will be spokesperson for internal affairs as well as trade and export growth.

Chris Bishop will shadow Labour's Chris Hipkins as the spokesperson for COVID-19 response. He has dropped slightly in the ranking from number seven to 10. He will continue on as Shadow Leader of the House.

What other changes has Judith Collins made?

Collins has charged Nicola Willis with housing and RMA reform. Housing was taken away from her in Collins' previous shake-up and it was given to Jacqui Dean, who made false claims on The AM Show about how many state homes National had built.

Dean is now ranked 18 down from 17. She will continue as the spokesperson for conservation and will become Assistant Speaker.

Former deputy leader Gerry Brownlee has been dropped way down the list from number two to 15. He will take foreign affairs from Simon Bridges and will be spokesperson for the spy agencies and associate finance.

Maureen Pugh, who was predicted to not make it back into Parliament but made it in as the last of National's list candidates, is ranked number 22 up from 40. She will be Junior Whip and be spokesperson for emergency management and the community sector.

Pugh is now ranked above senior National MP Nick Smith who will be spokesperson for electoral reform and science.

National's new MPs are at the bottom of the list. Ex-Air New Zealand boss Chris Luxon will be spokesperson for Local Government, iwi development and associate transport.

National's new rankings:

  1. Judith Collins: Leader, National Security & Intelligence, Pacific Peoples, Technology, Manufacturing & Artificial Intelligence
  2. Dr Shane Reti: Deputy Leader, Health, Children
  3. Andrew Bayly: Shadow Treasurer (Revenue), Infrastructure, Statistics
  4. Michael Woodhouse: Finance, Transport, Deputy Shadow Leader of the House
  5. Louise Upston: Social Development & Employment, Social Investment, Whānau Ora, Land Information
  6. Todd McClay: Economic Development Small Business, Commerce & Consumer Affairs, Tourism, Associate Pacific Peoples
  7. Simon Bridges: Justice, Water, Pike River Re-entry, Māori-Crown Relations
  8. Chris Bishop: Covid-19 Response, Shadow Leader of the House
  9. Melissa Lee: Broadcasting & Media, Digital Economy & Communications, Ethnic Communities
  10. Scott Simpson: Environment, Workplace Relations, RMA (Environment)
  11. David Bennett: Agriculture, Horticulture, Biosecurity
  12. Paul Goldsmith: Education
  13. Mark Mitchell: Public Service, SOEs, Sports & Recreation
  14. Barbara Kuriger: Energy & Resources, Rural Communities, Food Safety, Associate Transport
  15. Hon Gerry Brownlee: Foreign Affairs, GCSB & NZSIS, Associate Finance
  16. Nicola Willis: RMA (Housing), Housing & Urban Development (including Social), Associate Economic Development
  17. Stuart Smith: Climate Change, Viticulture
  18. Jacqui Dean: Conservation, Assistant Speaker
  19. Todd Muller: Trade & Export Growth, Internal Affairs
  20. Simeon Brown: Police, Corrections, SFO, Youth
  21. Matt Doocey: Chief Whip, Mental Health, Associate Social Development & Employment, Associate Health
  22. Maureen Pugh: Junior Whip, Community & Voluntary Sector, Emergency Management
  23. Dr Nick Smith: Research & Science, Electoral Reform
  24. Chris Penk: Shadow Attorney-General, Defence, Courts, Veterans
  25. Simon O’Connor: Customs, Arts, Culture & Heritage, Associate Foreign Affairs
  26. Erica Stanford: Immigration, Early Childhood Education
  27. Ian McKelvie: Seniors, Forestry, Racing, Disability Issues
  28. Tim van de Molen: Oceans & Fisheries, Animal Welfare, Building & Construction
  29. Nicola Grigg: Women, Associate Trade, Associate Arts, Culture & Heritage
  30. Christopher Luxon: Local Government, Iwi Development, Associate Transport
  31. Joseph Mooney: Treaty Negotiations, Associate Defence, Associate Tourism
  32. Penny Simmonds: Tertiary Education, Associate Agriculture, Associate Disability Issues
  33. Simon Watts: ACC, Associate Health