COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins with Waikato alert level decision and update on schools, Delta outbreak

  • 27/10/2021

This livestream has finished. 

COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins is providing an update on the Delta outbreak and the alert level decision for parts of the Waikato. 

Hipkins announced last Thursday that parts of Waikato - Hamilton, Waipa, Ōtorohanga, Raglan, Te Kauwhata, Huntly, Ngāruawāhia, and Waitomo including Te Kuiti - would remain at alert level 3 until Wednesday. 

The Ministry of Health registered 79 new cases of COVID-19 in the community on Tuesday, 75 in Auckland and four in Waikato. On Monday, 103 cases were reported in Auckland and four in Waikato. 

As Education Minister, Hipkins is also expected to announce the next steps for schools. Year 11-13 students in alert level 3 were able to return to school this week, but younger students are yet to find out when they can return. 

Watch the video.