Ukraine invasion: Government announces new sanctions against Russia, Belarus

The government has announced another set of sanctions as part of its ongoing response to the war in Ukraine.

The new sanctions will target political and military figures from Russia and Belarus.

It comes after the International Criminal Court issued an arrest warrant for Russia's Commissioner for Children's Rights - Maria Alekseevna Lvova-Belova - for war crimes.

Foreign Affairs Minister Nanaia Mahuta said New Zealand is sanctioning her over the abduction and forced relocation of thousands of Ukrainian children.

"These acts by Russia are calculated and an attempt to erode the sovereignty of Ukraine. It is important that Aotearoa New Zealand demonstrate our opposition to such acts and our support for the jurisdiction and decisions of the ICC," Mahuta said in a statement.

She said the government is also sanctioning another 26 other people - five from Belarus and the rest from Russia.

The sanctions include bans on travel, dealing assets or services and vessels or aircraft entering New Zealand.

"Aotearoa New Zealand will continue to take action against those with a role to play in the continuation of this war," Mahuta said.