National Party selects candidate to contest Māori seat for first time in over two decades

National List MP Harete Hipango has been selected to contest the Māori seat of Te Tai Hauāuru.

It is the first time the National Party has stood a candidate in a Māori seat since 2002.

Harete Hipango was MP for Whanganui from 2017 to 2020, before losing the seat, and returning as a list MP in 2021.

Te Tai Hauāuru is currently held by Parliament's speaker Adrian Rurawhe, who has decided to run as a List-only candidate this year.

Labour List MP Soraya Peke-Mason is running instead, as is Te Pāti Māori co-leader Debbie Ngarewa-Packer.

The seat covers much of the western North Island, from South Waikato, through King Country, Taranaki, and Manawatū-Whanganui, and down to northern Wellington.